Nauvoo Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
These cookies are very good. I did change the spices based on others' comments to 1 T ginger and 1 t each of cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves. My kids loved decorating them with the Royal II icing on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zeezeebaker
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I made these cookies for Christmas and they went over very well. I did make some changes (canola oil instead of lard, more ginger as well as the addition of ground clove, nutmeg, allspice and vanilla extract), but the recipe was a great starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zeezeebaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dorchester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
These cookies taste wonderful, have a great texture, but best of all, the dough was easy to work with. I chilled it for exactly an hour, and it rolled out perfectly. I iced these using Butter Icing For Cookies, from this site. They were heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Delicious! If you want an easy recipe for soft gingerbread cookies, look no further!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Great recipe. I used honey instead of molasses, because i have honey bees. Turned out fantastic! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cook4U
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
These took a while to make, but the end result was worth it. My only complaint is that they could be softer. I used shortening instead of lard. I will be using these in Christmas baskets as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I don't care for these much at all. My husband and kids, however, LOVE them. We visit Nauvoo often since we live close and they always have to stop at the historic bakery where they serve these. Unfortunately, when we remodeled our kitchen this summer the recipe was lost. Nice and easy to work with. I also bake on wax paper or silpat-too forgetful to ever buy parchment paper. lol Otherwise, it's next to impossible to get whole gingerbread off the pans. I also use Crisco instead of lard because I think lard's nasty. I like spicier cookies so I usually make 2 batches and double the spices in one. Last year we made ornaments out of them by adding a whole jar of cinnamon, cloves, and ginger from Dollar General. We poked holes in the tops before we baked them and the kids threaded them with ribbons. They still smell great this year. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamakittyto3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montrose, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I don't understand the raves about this recipe. While the texture and appearance are nice, the cookies are extremely bland - taste like bread. Not worth eating. I had to drastically revise the recipe to give the cookies any flavor - substitute half brown sugar, triple the cinnamon and ginger, plus add a generous amount of clove, cardamom and nutmeg. This gave more flavor. Even so, I will look elsewhere for a more flavorful recipe with more molasses and spice flavor and zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Nice crunchy cookie. I think I could have baked them less for a softer cookie, but they're great the way they turned out. Just added some simple frosting (powdered sugar and milk), yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BadGirlBaker87
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Fantastic recipe! Best gingerbread Ive had, but I recommend cooling for several hours in the refrigerator, or even over night, I found the dough still a lil' sticky after only one hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States