Nauvoo Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
The cookies needed more spicing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
The dough was easy to work with, and the result is very good. However, I suggest adding more of all of the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Yum! They were perfect! I made them for christmas and gave them as gifts (with other cookies) and everybody loved them! To me, they were awesome because they were not too spicy, just enough for me :) They're even better with frosting...I will to them again for sure! Thank you soooo very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Soft, chewy cookies. Didn't get hard even after being out a couple of days. VERY easy to roll and cut. Didn't have any problem with dough sticking to anything, even without flouring sheet or cookie cutters. Great recipe. Will use over and over. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This recipe was TERRIFIC!! It was easy to handle and the cutouts puffed out nicely. I made a two batches not truly trusting that this recipe would make 72 cookies for a cookie exchange. To my amazement it made 75. My only changes to the recipe is I used real butter instead of lard. The baked cookies were a perfect combination of outer firmness and melt in your mouth softness. When decorating the second batch, I used a scalloped circle cutter and dipped half in melted chocolate and sprinkled chopped walnuts on the chocolate. Very elegant looking and easy to make. I received rave reviews from choir members and co-workers where the cookies was shared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ralyne L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
These cookies lacked in the flavor department. They baked up beautifully, but the taste was not there. Need to add a lot more spice .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Todds Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Honor Ross
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I made dozens of these frosted with "Sugar Cookie Frosting" from this site also and gave them as Christmas gifts. They were eaten up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honor Ross

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boerne, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
These cookies are very good. I did change the spices based on others' comments to 1 T ginger and 1 t each of cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves. My kids loved decorating them with the Royal II icing on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zeezeebaker
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I made these cookies for Christmas and they went over very well. I did make some changes (canola oil instead of lard, more ginger as well as the addition of ground clove, nutmeg, allspice and vanilla extract), but the recipe was a great starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zeezeebaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dorchester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
These cookies taste wonderful, have a great texture, but best of all, the dough was easy to work with. I chilled it for exactly an hour, and it rolled out perfectly. I iced these using Butter Icing For Cookies, from this site. They were heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States