Nauvoo Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I love this recipe! This is the second year I'm using it, and I have tried other recipes before. This simple recipe makes a light, sweet gingerbread - exactly the way I like it. It's also super easy. Makes great gingerbread houses, and my Mormon family members really appreciate its origin :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I think that gingerbread reminds me of laying tile in our kitchen, no it reminds me of the fact that I need to walk my dog, no really it reminds me that Ungle Gerg always tells me to take things more seriously
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mighty Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelso, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
The best and easiest gingerbread cookie dough I've ever tried! Use this recipe, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I assumed that these would be amazing and was very excited. I followed the recipe and they were extremely heavy and bland. They tasted like flour and had very little flavor. I am not sure what is responsible for the recipe's failure if not due to too much flour, but I didn't have to refridgerate these cookies because the dough was already firm. I suppose the recipe simply calls for too much flour, but it was a waste of my time. I was not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by courtney
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Absolutely Wonderful! I substituted shortening for lard. The dough was easy to make, rolled out well and I was even able to re-roll the leftover dough from the cut-outs. The amount of spice was perfect! I am going to make these every year!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
These were delicious. Instead of lard I used 1/2 cup softened butter and 1/4 cup shortening. I also added 1 tsp ground cloves. I can hardly wait for my kids to get home from school to try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I made this with my daughters, and it was super easy. Only thing I changed was to use Crisco instead of lard. And I agree with some of the others, they are not too spicy, but it was just perfect for my picky kids and husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I love this recipe! I have used it for 3 years now and the cookie has always came out moist and flavorful. They don't stick around very long at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I made these last year and they were delicious, perfect gingerbread cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Excellent! I make several batches of these during the holidays and the guys just eat them up. I drizzle them with mom's thin butter, milk, and powedered sugar frosting and it makes them even better - if that is really possible. My mother has even abandoned her old gingerbread recipe for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryef27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States