Nauvoo Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
These were AWESOME! I've been looking for a soft gingerbread cookie FOREVER. These were so pillowy and soft. I did add more spices to suit my taste. These are for sure a keeper. And everyone out there considering using this - USE LARD. I can't help but think that they'd give it 5 stars if they'd made it the way it was intended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I've been making this recipe as is for the last 4 years and LOVE the way it rolls out perfectly every time! The cookies are delicious and mild flavored, perfect for little ones and for decorating. I am just about to start my holiday baking and again, am making houses and cutouts with this recipe. Now I just wish I could find the perfect icing that get dry enough that it doesn't smear and just harden enough that it won't crack a tooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
My favorite gingerbread cookies. A little work intensive, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Wow are these good!! I make for bake sales (non profit) and these are a big hit. Last Christmas I didn't have time to decorate all of them so I sold some decorated & some not. The undecorated sold faster, everyone wanted a shortcut during the busy season and this filled the bill. A wonderful soft cookie that freezes well. Flavorful enough I was able to decorate with unflavored Royal Icing which makes transporting a breeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I've tried different recipes for gingerbread in the past, but I like this one the best. It is good. I gave out the recipe about 10 times last holiday season. This is going to be my go to recipe from now on. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
These make great cut out cookies since they hold their shape. They aren't chewy, more like thick soft biscuits because of the lower amount of fat needed for this recipe (which I liked). These cookies have a mild spice flavour to it but the longer you store them the more flavour will come out. I put the water, sugars (I subbed the molasses for brown sugar) and butter (I subbed the lard) in a bowl and microwaved it so everything will melt together. Use that same bowl to mix in the dry ingredients and put the whole thing in the fridge afterwards. The dough was not sticky at all after you fridge it, really good to work with. Really liked making and eating these :D Straight forward recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I like a spicier gingerbread. I did use canola instead of the lard. They didn't stay too soft either. I might make again or look for something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I love this recipe! This is the second year I'm using it, and I have tried other recipes before. This simple recipe makes a light, sweet gingerbread - exactly the way I like it. It's also super easy. Makes great gingerbread houses, and my Mormon family members really appreciate its origin :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I think that gingerbread reminds me of laying tile in our kitchen, no it reminds me of the fact that I need to walk my dog, no really it reminds me that Ungle Gerg always tells me to take things more seriously
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mighty Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelso, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
The best and easiest gingerbread cookie dough I've ever tried! Use this recipe, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States