Nauvoo Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
UGH. I omitted the baking soda like suggested to keep the shape. It came out exactly as it was cut. I added just a touch dark brown sugar. It came out bland and tough. Sticky and difficult to roll/cut. Not making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeymaterial

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I used this recipe to mass-produce gingerbread houses last Christmas! I totally recommend it!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COLETTECOOKIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I used this recipe the first time I ever made gingerbread cookies and they turned out delicious! My only modification was using butter instead of lard. Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I like spicier gingerbread so I doubled the amount of cinnamon & ginger, added 1 tsp allspice, 1 tsp ground cloves, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, and STILL it was bland. And I mean really, really bland. Not even super sugary icing helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
What a wonderful recipe! I had never made gingerbread cookies before, and this dough came together easily, and the cookies when baked stayed soft and flavorful. I did add a bit more ginger than the recipe calls for, and we loved it. Definitely worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Awesome recipe! I used 1/2 c crisco and 1/4 veg oil and it turned out great. Rolled between parchment paper. Decorated with Royal Icing. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Just the way my daughter likes them, soft and a lighter taste than your regular gingerbread. Update: the next day, I can really taste the molasses which I think is a bit much for our taste, so next time, I will cut back on that (Dec.21)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
excellent! didnt change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
With a few substitutions these were fantastic! First I subbed the lard with shortening. I also changed the spices to 2 1/2 t. ginger, 1 1/2 t. cinnamon, 1 1/2 t. ground cloves and a dash of nutmeg. The first batch I made followed the recipe exactly(except for the lard) and the cookies lacked flavor. The second batch I upped the spices and it was perfect. The dough was very easy to work with, rolled out nicely and the cookies were soft and chewy...and stayed that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
These cookies are actually being made as I type - but I stole one off of the cooling rack to taste-test. They are perfectly baked, nice and light and soft. I would prefer more spice, so on my next run (yes, I will definitely make these again!) I will double the cinnamon and ginger. Thanks for a fabulous recipe - I think they'll be even more awesome once decorated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States