Nauvoo Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I used this recipe the first time I ever made gingerbread cookies and they turned out delicious! My only modification was using butter instead of lard. Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I like spicier gingerbread so I doubled the amount of cinnamon & ginger, added 1 tsp allspice, 1 tsp ground cloves, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, and STILL it was bland. And I mean really, really bland. Not even super sugary icing helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
What a wonderful recipe! I had never made gingerbread cookies before, and this dough came together easily, and the cookies when baked stayed soft and flavorful. I did add a bit more ginger than the recipe calls for, and we loved it. Definitely worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Awesome recipe! I used 1/2 c crisco and 1/4 veg oil and it turned out great. Rolled between parchment paper. Decorated with Royal Icing. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Just the way my daughter likes them, soft and a lighter taste than your regular gingerbread. Update: the next day, I can really taste the molasses which I think is a bit much for our taste, so next time, I will cut back on that (Dec.21)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
excellent! didnt change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
With a few substitutions these were fantastic! First I subbed the lard with shortening. I also changed the spices to 2 1/2 t. ginger, 1 1/2 t. cinnamon, 1 1/2 t. ground cloves and a dash of nutmeg. The first batch I made followed the recipe exactly(except for the lard) and the cookies lacked flavor. The second batch I upped the spices and it was perfect. The dough was very easy to work with, rolled out nicely and the cookies were soft and chewy...and stayed that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
These cookies are actually being made as I type - but I stole one off of the cooling rack to taste-test. They are perfectly baked, nice and light and soft. I would prefer more spice, so on my next run (yes, I will definitely make these again!) I will double the cinnamon and ginger. Thanks for a fabulous recipe - I think they'll be even more awesome once decorated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
i thought these turned out nicely. my preschool-age daughters had a great time helping roll out the dough, cutout the shapes, and decorate. the taste was agreeable with everyone in our family too. i did implement a couple of minor ingredient tweaks: substituted butter for lard, and only used 4 cups of flour. even after cutting down the flour, the dough was a bit too dry and crumbly. next time i may try 3 1/2 cups of flour instead (perhaps lard absorbs more flour than butter?). i may double the ginger next time as well, as i like my gingerbread a little more ginger-y. all-in-all, this recipe is a keeper. we'll be making these cookies a holiday tradition in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This is my go-to gingerbread recipe. The dough is very easy to work with and it makes a LOT of cookies. They stay nice and soft even after they have cooled and keep well. You can also freeze the dough for future use. Don't be afraid to use lard; it is healthier than processed fats like Crisco. My only complaint with this recipe is it is not very ginger-y. I imagine spices were expensive and hard to obtain in the 19th century, hence the frugal amounts used. Since I love ginger, I use 2 tablespoons (one of dried ground ginger and one of freshly grated ginger). I also use 2 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg. Everyone loves these cookies! They are not overly sweet and thus you can ice them w/out making them gaggingly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States