Nauvoo Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This is the only gingerbread cookie recipe I will ever need again! If you want a nice soft, not-too-spicy gingerbread cookie, this is the one to try. Don't over-bake, though. Like the directions say, take them out when the centers look dry. I lined my cookie sheets with parchment paper and let them cool on the cookie sheets about 5 minutes. This will help to avoid "headless gingerbread men" as they are very easy to handle when cool. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This is a great recipe. Not sure why everyone complains of it taking a long time to make. I made up the dough while my son was in school and then we baked them together. Fun for kids to decorate. Most importantly... delicious cookies! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I love these! So simple to make and yet so yummy! I made over 100 of these cookies for a kid's Christmas party so they could decorate their own gingerbread men and there weren't any left at the end of the night. These cookies will definitely become a holiday regular in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
These cookies are great. My son loves gingerbread and begs for me to make them. I added allspice and nutmeg to the cookies for extra flavor. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I'm not a big fan of gingerbread cookies. I like soft cookies and gingerbread cookies seem like they're always hard. After reading all the reviews, I decided to make these. They were the softest, best gingerbread cookies I have ever tasted. Everyone loved them at our family holiday gathering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Canoga Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
These were perfect! Nice flavor, and very soft and chewy. If you wanted to use the recipe for a gingerbread house, or decorating the tree with the men, you'd want to cook the cookies a little longer to get them crisper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYWR
Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Loved these. So simple, great taste and puffed up nicely while still holding their shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Super tasty cookies. I gave them out to friends for Christmas, then made them again for a Christmas party and they got snarfed down. I didn't think they were a lot of work. I didn't have any problems with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HRS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
These cookies were the BEST gingerbread cookies I have ever tasted!!! Soft, chewy, delightful, sweet! We will be making these again for Christmas Eve! :D Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Hanson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
very nice gingerbread cookie. I made the dough two days before we rolled them out, and it kept nicely in the fridge. The cookies are soft yet firm and have nice ginger flavor. Perfect for decorating, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States