Nauvoo Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I have a question - i substituted lard with oil, and did everything, including refrigerate for 1hr (the max time i could afford)... however my dough was SOOOO sticky, we couldn't use cookie cutters at all, and it was a sticky mess!! however, the cookies tasted great. just wondering what happened...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Don't need another gingerbread cookies recipe anymore! Those are - Perfect, easy, budget friendly and very tasty as well. I didn't change a thing in this recipe and they turned out beautifully. Why to spend so much time and effort to try and try other gingerbread recipes if this one is THE ONE you'll ever like! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
this is receiving one star only for the texture of the cookie. They tasted like cardboard! I even added extra spices (nutmeg and cloves) and extra ginger and cinnamon. The dough was easy to work with and they smelled amazing as i was rolling them out and cooking them but they had no taste. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
My favorite gingerbread cookies. The dough freezes for later use really well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
These were perfect! I made these for my dad for Christmas and shipped them across the US. When he got them he said they were still really fresh and soft. Iususally dont like the Gingerbread cookies but I LOVED these so did my hubby and son. This is a new family favorite, especailly at christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Pretty much perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Pleasant View, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I made a double batch of Gingerbread Cookies and used the recipe off the back of the Molassis container. They came out dark and the next day were really hard. I used this recipe to make the other 2 batches. Not only did it make more cookies but they turned out way better than the other ones! Best of all, it didn't require heating the molassis mixture on the stove. The only thing I changed was I used regular Crisco in place of the Lard. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
WOW a delicious tasting cookie! I used an electric mixer to blend the sugar, lard, molasses, eggs and water in very large bowl. I added the flour mixture 1 cup at a time to make mixing less messy and easier. I did judge doneness by looking at the center of the cookie. My kids loved these compared to the really crunchy, spicier cookies. My mom enjoyed them too and she's NEVER eaten my gingerbread before. They will make great gifts and a great tradition at Christmas - Thanks for posting this recipe they are amazing with hot cocoa or a little rum and eggnog!! nom, nom, nom...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Collins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Yummy! I used canola oil in place of the lard and they turned out great! They freeze well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This is THE BEST gingerbread cookie recipe I've ever tried. Dough is easy to work with, they puffed up nicely & held their shape, came out soft, tasted great! Make these! The only thing I altered was I used butter instead of lard, and I add a pinch of cloves, b/c I like that flavor, but they would be great without it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States