Native American Galette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
this one of THE best recipes for bannock. added more butter and milk for a more moist bread. mmmmmm. thanks brother
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I feel bad in a way rating this so low but I really disliked the bread as it came out, as I made it. I wanted to like it-such a simple and useful recipe. I did use whole wheat flour, but so do other reviewers, and my bread came out looking exactly as the main photo does. I see that most people really liked it so I am open to possibly doing something wrong, but I don't think I did. I understood this was going to be a dense bread, but to me the bread tasted like dough or flour, not bread. The texture was clay-like but perhaps it is supposed to be. I knew it would be different than sour-dough or yeast raised bread and was surprised I did not like the flavor as well as the texture. I tend to like a wide variety of things and am open to it. Many reviewers seem to have experience with this bread, including from childhood, and the good associations with remembering eating it. I can't say whether or not the "spice" of nostalgia has helped their result taste better than mine. The only other baking soda-leavened bread I've eaten before is Irish Soda bread, and I've only had it a few times. I give it two stars not one in case it was something I did. There's not a big loss if you try the recipe anyway-most people have the ingredients always around. Who knows maybe you will like it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Best bannok I have made yet. Only change was to use whole wheat flour. Made a nice size round loaf... Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparwood, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I remember my father used to make this when I was a child. I looked forward to eating it as we didn't have much to eat in the house. He used to tell me his grandmother used to make it. I never relized it was something from our Native background. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandm4ever

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I made this with whole wheat flour, and cut the recipe in half. With that in mind, the baking time was decreased; my bread only took about 20 minutes! Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Wow! It's great to see a recipe for this! This is wonderful bread to accompany just about any meal. It is best fresh from the oven with fresh raspberry or chokecherry jelly, which my aunt makes as well. We slice it into half inch slices and it makes delicious toast also. My auntie lives in the Turtle Mtns and when she makes gallette, she just keeps putting ingredients together until it looks and feels right-it's great to see exact amounts for those of us who are not master gallette makers like her!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I have made this recipe multiple times now. I love it for the simplicity and ease of preparation and the crunchy crust. I have tried it with all white and all whole wheat flour, and it has turned out great each time. It is a hearty, dense bread. Quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
My husband is native and loves his "Buffalo Chip" bread. I tested the recipe with shortening sub instead of butter, powder milk sub and original. All three were great! My family loved them. Super easy, quick and tasty bread with beans or a hearty stew. Definately will recommend and stored in the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Dayton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
Good simple recipe! I would like to try it now, using part whole wheat flour. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States