Natchitoches Meat Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
Used Old bay seasoning in place of Cajun seasoning at end of cooking meat as well as the garlic powder. Definitely cook via oven over fry method. Started out frying and then discovered could of baked so finished via baking. Served with garlic mashed potatoes,fruit salad, & stuffed peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Having gone to school in Natchitoches, these delicious little pies have a special place in my heart. I haven't been there in years, but it felt like I was back again when I made these pies! They were delicious and so easy to make! I baked them in the oven for ease and they were still scrumptious. I also used fresh garlic instead of garlic salt for a bit of a fresher flavor. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I used to live in New Orleans and eat meat pies for lunch almost everyday, I was in love with them and so excited when I came accross this recipe. This recipe wasn't even close. Or maybe it was me, I did follow the recipe exactly as I do all recipes the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I, too, grew up in North Louisiana eating Natchitoches Meat Pies. I miss them so much! This recipe has potential as it captures the taste of the meat pies. I did, however, feel that the "crust" was lacking. First, there is no way I could get 15 meat pies from one store-bought pie crust recipe. The ones I bought (and I tried several) were much too crumbly to reshape into dough and reroll. Also, very little meat would fit in there without breaking the dough as it was too crumbly as a pie crust. Basically, I didn't get very far with this recipe, but I think with a different type of dough, it would work better. Maybe a homemade pie crust dough? I may try that next time, though I'm a little hesitant after all the work this time that produced no edible results to speak of. That being said, the recipe has the potential to be a 5 star for me if I can tweak the dough issue. Thanks for trying! It gives me hope that it can be done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Mixed up a batch of pie crust dough to use instead of buying the prepared kind. Fried them in hot oil until browned and they were so good. Taste very much like the ones I had in Natchitoches Louisiana.(Made these again and they were even better with some changes: added 1 chopped bell pepper in with the onion. Added 1 bunch green onions chopped. About 4 cloves of garlic and about 1/4 tsp red pepper.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Loved these and will definitely make them again. I used a homemade pie crust and added green bell peppers to the mix and they were delicious. They're even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Good meat pie, but a little tame. I added some extra hot sauce. I suggest you bake them. I fried them in oil and they were good but too greasy and fragile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I made these for my card group at my house and they were met with rave reviews. I used more pie crusts than it stated and I baked them to cut down on the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I hate to rate this low, as I LOVE Natchitoches meat pies (that's pronounced "Nack-a-tsh" btw), but this recipe needed some work to get it where it needed to be. First, onion, celery and bell pepper cooked in the roux are a must. Then chopped garlic, then I added my meat, and immediately turned the burner off *before* the meat could brown - if anything it just got a bit "gray." Then I seasoned with a heavy-handed blend of white, black and cayenne pepper. Meanwhile, I re-rolled pkg'ed crust into about 12 5" circles (will DEF make my own crust next time, that was a pain) and put about 2T of filling into each pie, placing each on a greased pan after forming the pies and cutting tiny slits in the top for steam to escape. I then baked for about 30 minutes at 350. But here's what sends this over the top - you should have quite a bit of meat mixture left over at this point - now you can go ahead and brown it and use that to make gravy, either from scratch or with a brown gravy mix - it is phenomenal over mashed potatoes and the pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanagan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States