Natchitoches Meat Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Mixed up a batch of pie crust dough to use instead of buying the prepared kind. Fried them in hot oil until browned and they were so good. Taste very much like the ones I had in Natchitoches Louisiana.(Made these again and they were even better with some changes: added 1 chopped bell pepper in with the onion. Added 1 bunch green onions chopped. About 4 cloves of garlic and about 1/4 tsp red pepper.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I didnt exactly follow the recipe but loved what the outcome was. I used 1.5 lbs of ground beef season with cayenne, garlic powder and salt...browned with onion and fresh garlic...then added roux with water to cook down together...then I added diced zuchinni...I poured mixture in a unbaked pre-made dough...added slits for steam...and baked for 30 min. Was really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Loved these and will definitely make them again. I used a homemade pie crust and added green bell peppers to the mix and they were delicious. They're even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Having gone to school in Natchitoches, these delicious little pies have a special place in my heart. I haven't been there in years, but it felt like I was back again when I made these pies! They were delicious and so easy to make! I baked them in the oven for ease and they were still scrumptious. I also used fresh garlic instead of garlic salt for a bit of a fresher flavor. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Good recipe! I changed up the filling a little by leaving out the pork sausage; added 1/2 a chopped green pepper, 1/2 of a chopped celery stalk and 3 minced garlic cloves to the onion in the roux. I browned the meat (barely). I added about another tsp of Cajun seasoning, and about 1-2 tsp of ground cayenne, as well as a pinch of sea salt and a few shakes of garlic powder after browning meat. Make it to your taste! I've tried frying the pies in the past, but they were too heavy. This time I made my own pie dough. Good, but a little too hard to hold. Hot tip: use refrig. crescent roll dough; take a piece a little larger than a walnut and roll out. Works great and tastes great!! Brush top with butter towards end of baking; Use instructions on package to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Fam loved these! Get Hidden Valley's Spicy Ranch dressing for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
We loved these pies. I thought they were spot on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Love the recipe. I substituted minced garlic instead of garlic powder. I also used crescent rolls instead of pie crust. I baked mine. My husband loves these. He wouldn't mind if I made them every night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
Used Old bay seasoning in place of Cajun seasoning at end of cooking meat as well as the garlic powder. Definitely cook via oven over fry method. Started out frying and then discovered could of baked so finished via baking. Served with garlic mashed potatoes,fruit salad, & stuffed peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Good meat pie, but a little tame. I added some extra hot sauce. I suggest you bake them. I fried them in oil and they were good but too greasy and fragile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States