Nat and Darcy's Amazing Eggplant Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
We didn't like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2004
This was really great for my low carb diet. I used ground beef instead of bacon to make it more italian. Also I sweated the eggplant for an hour each side so I didn't have the problems that the other reviewers had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
I really liked this, especially using the eggplant as "noodles". Only problems I had was my eggplant was too small so there was not enough noodles and I sliced some strips too thick. Next time a really large eggplant or 2 smaller ones. I froze my leftovers and used them as quick lunches during the week. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
UGH! I should have read the reviews first! I'm not very versed in eggplant recipes, so i followed the directions to a "t". Where the recipe went horribly wrong was the salting/sweating. Brushing the salt off didn't do the trick (and may have been too late) - the eggplant was WAY too salty - even for me, a true salt lover. The reciepe is good in theory, bad in direction. Definitely prep the eggplant with a different method! And this takes much more cooking time, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
I should have read the previous reviews and cooked the eggplant first- I followed exactly and the eggplant was not soft- I cooked for another 30 min and it still wasn't soft enough to eat- I'll stick with Eggplant Parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
This dish was very good. I will change a few things the next time I make it though. I will boil the eggplant a little first, to soften it and omit the bacon, it was to dominating of a flavor in this dish. Me and my husband enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
This can also be a great vegetarian recipe. I left the bacon out and added all ricotta cheese because we don't like feta. This is a great low carb recipe and getting eggplant into the family's diet is easy. Add several chopped hard boiled eggs in place of the meat. Makes it tast rich. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
I modified this recipe by "frying" the eggplant slices in Pam olive oil spray in my electric skillet (pretty high heat). I also used hamburger instead of bacon mixed with the spaghetti sauce. Thanks Natalie for a great recipe using eggplant instead of lasagna noodles!! Tried again using lasagna noodles with the fried eggplant -- excellent!! I did not pre-cook the noodles, let them absorb the juice from the cheeses and sauce, bake covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Bethel, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States