Nat and Darcy's Amazing Eggplant Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I love this recipe and have made it many times. I like to add chopped fresh basil to the ricotta. Fast, easy, simple and delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I've never made eggplant lasagna before. I made this along with a regular lasagne since I was feeding Meat eaters and Veg's. I have to say I did not have very much of this -just a taste. It was decent. It was very easy to prepare. The veg's raved about it and really enjoyed it. It was all gone so I guess it was pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
After 35" in the convection oven, this turned out only partially warm and the eggplant was not fully cooked. I then covered the dish with alum. foil and returned to the oven for another 35" which made the dish smell like it should and everything was hot and cooked. I thought it tasted fine but would not probably make it again following these directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This was my first time eating/cooking an eggplant. This wasn't bad. I followed the recipe exactly except for using turkey bacon (and microwaving it). I did the whole salt/sweat thing rather than frying it (was trying to keep it healthy). The eggplant was fine if you're not expecting it to taste like a noodle. It wasn't too hard at all. I liked the bacon in there. Couldn't really taste the feta. I think it could use some spices or garlic- something else- but I would probably make this again if I had an eggplant to do something with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Not bad from the traditional Melanzane alla Parmigiana or eggplant parmesan done in layers recipe-but feta cheese? Anyways, we slice the eggplant then just leave them in cold salted water so they don't get too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I read through the other recipes and loved the idea of "frying" in pam. I did salt one side of the eggplant and then fry it in the pam. The plant came out nicely browned and soft. I then used the ricotta cheese recipe, it all came out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I made a number of modifications so bear with my "review". I used half an eggplant, 1 small zucchini and 1 small yellow squash. I sliced each very thinly and didn't salt or sweat. Instead of red sauce, I used 2 c of ricotta mixed with 2 eggs and italian seasonings. Lastly, I substituted prociutto for the bacon. The results were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
I made this for my girlfriends the other night, and they cleaned out my pan!!! They loved it. It was so good, my mom and I had to sneak a couple of pieces to work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Reese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
I loved the idea of lasagna without the noodles! I used my favorite lasagna recipe but replaced the noodles with the eggplant. After reading comments I did the following to prepare my eggplant: sliced, placed in a pan with about a tsp of heated olive oil and salted. When the oil had been soaked up and the eggplant had started to soften I added several Tablespoons of water. Then flipped and repeated with water. I tried it without the oil and it didn't work as well. My eggplant turned out golden and soft but was not mushy. I also used a round glass pan to accommidate for the shape of the eggplant. It worked perfectly! Thanks for the idea Natalie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LinC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
As an eggplant freak, I really enjoyed this recipe, though I would stress that it's necessary to boil the eggplant for at least 45 minutes before using it. And like some of the others, I used ground beef instead of bacon for more of a "lasagna" taste. I would definitely try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Lasagna

Layers of breaded roasted eggplant with ground beef, tomato sauce, and cheese.

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States