Nat and Darcy's Amazing Eggplant Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
As an eggplant freak, I really enjoyed this recipe, though I would stress that it's necessary to boil the eggplant for at least 45 minutes before using it. And like some of the others, I used ground beef instead of bacon for more of a "lasagna" taste. I would definitely try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
I modified this recipe by "frying" the eggplant slices in Pam olive oil spray in my electric skillet (pretty high heat). I also used hamburger instead of bacon mixed with the spaghetti sauce. Thanks Natalie for a great recipe using eggplant instead of lasagna noodles!! Tried again using lasagna noodles with the fried eggplant -- excellent!! I did not pre-cook the noodles, let them absorb the juice from the cheeses and sauce, bake covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Bethel, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
I loved the idea of lasagna without the noodles! I used my favorite lasagna recipe but replaced the noodles with the eggplant. After reading comments I did the following to prepare my eggplant: sliced, placed in a pan with about a tsp of heated olive oil and salted. When the oil had been soaked up and the eggplant had started to soften I added several Tablespoons of water. Then flipped and repeated with water. I tried it without the oil and it didn't work as well. My eggplant turned out golden and soft but was not mushy. I also used a round glass pan to accommidate for the shape of the eggplant. It worked perfectly! Thanks for the idea Natalie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LinC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
UGH! I should have read the reviews first! I'm not very versed in eggplant recipes, so i followed the directions to a "t". Where the recipe went horribly wrong was the salting/sweating. Brushing the salt off didn't do the trick (and may have been too late) - the eggplant was WAY too salty - even for me, a true salt lover. The reciepe is good in theory, bad in direction. Definitely prep the eggplant with a different method! And this takes much more cooking time, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I read through the other recipes and loved the idea of "frying" in pam. I did salt one side of the eggplant and then fry it in the pam. The plant came out nicely browned and soft. I then used the ricotta cheese recipe, it all came out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
I really liked this, especially using the eggplant as "noodles". Only problems I had was my eggplant was too small so there was not enough noodles and I sliced some strips too thick. Next time a really large eggplant or 2 smaller ones. I froze my leftovers and used them as quick lunches during the week. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
This dish was very good. I will change a few things the next time I make it though. I will boil the eggplant a little first, to soften it and omit the bacon, it was to dominating of a flavor in this dish. Me and my husband enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I made a number of modifications so bear with my "review". I used half an eggplant, 1 small zucchini and 1 small yellow squash. I sliced each very thinly and didn't salt or sweat. Instead of red sauce, I used 2 c of ricotta mixed with 2 eggs and italian seasonings. Lastly, I substituted prociutto for the bacon. The results were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
I made this for my girlfriends the other night, and they cleaned out my pan!!! They loved it. It was so good, my mom and I had to sneak a couple of pieces to work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Reese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I tried this recipe exactly as written, and have to say that I too found the eggplant waaay too salty. I also didn't care for the bacon in this recipe, although my husband liked it. I made it again, leaving out the bacon. And instead of salting the eggplant, I peeled and sliced it, spread it on an oiled pie plate and nuked til soft, about 4 minutes. Perfecto!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darkgardyner

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States