Nat and Darcy's Amazing Eggplant Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I love this recipe and have made it many times. I like to add chopped fresh basil to the ricotta. Fast, easy, simple and delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I've never made eggplant lasagna before. I made this along with a regular lasagne since I was feeding Meat eaters and Veg's. I have to say I did not have very much of this -just a taste. It was decent. It was very easy to prepare. The veg's raved about it and really enjoyed it. It was all gone so I guess it was pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
After 35" in the convection oven, this turned out only partially warm and the eggplant was not fully cooked. I then covered the dish with alum. foil and returned to the oven for another 35" which made the dish smell like it should and everything was hot and cooked. I thought it tasted fine but would not probably make it again following these directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This was my first time eating/cooking an eggplant. This wasn't bad. I followed the recipe exactly except for using turkey bacon (and microwaving it). I did the whole salt/sweat thing rather than frying it (was trying to keep it healthy). The eggplant was fine if you're not expecting it to taste like a noodle. It wasn't too hard at all. I liked the bacon in there. Couldn't really taste the feta. I think it could use some spices or garlic- something else- but I would probably make this again if I had an eggplant to do something with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Not bad from the traditional Melanzane alla Parmigiana or eggplant parmesan done in layers recipe-but feta cheese? Anyways, we slice the eggplant then just leave them in cold salted water so they don't get too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I read through the other recipes and loved the idea of "frying" in pam. I did salt one side of the eggplant and then fry it in the pam. The plant came out nicely browned and soft. I then used the ricotta cheese recipe, it all came out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I made a number of modifications so bear with my "review". I used half an eggplant, 1 small zucchini and 1 small yellow squash. I sliced each very thinly and didn't salt or sweat. Instead of red sauce, I used 2 c of ricotta mixed with 2 eggs and italian seasonings. Lastly, I substituted prociutto for the bacon. The results were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
I made this for my girlfriends the other night, and they cleaned out my pan!!! They loved it. It was so good, my mom and I had to sneak a couple of pieces to work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Reese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
I loved the idea of lasagna without the noodles! I used my favorite lasagna recipe but replaced the noodles with the eggplant. After reading comments I did the following to prepare my eggplant: sliced, placed in a pan with about a tsp of heated olive oil and salted. When the oil had been soaked up and the eggplant had started to soften I added several Tablespoons of water. Then flipped and repeated with water. I tried it without the oil and it didn't work as well. My eggplant turned out golden and soft but was not mushy. I also used a round glass pan to accommidate for the shape of the eggplant. It worked perfectly! Thanks for the idea Natalie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LinC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
As an eggplant freak, I really enjoyed this recipe, though I would stress that it's necessary to boil the eggplant for at least 45 minutes before using it. And like some of the others, I used ground beef instead of bacon for more of a "lasagna" taste. I would definitely try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Linda's Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy 5-star lasagna with ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States