Nat and Darcy's Amazing Eggplant Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Good did my own version, left bacon out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna McGuire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I didn't bother with the salting. I had a full 28oz can of sauce, so I used it. We enjoyed this very much! Wished for more feta, but that's ok. I skipped the broiler as my 12 year old was baking and I didn't want her fooling with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
A good simple recipe! Mods: After salting and rinsing the eggplant slices, roast in oven, dredge in milk and bread crumbs, brown in skillet. Then assemble per recipe. Season to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I was surprised by how good this really was. I was worried the eggplant wouldn't carry enough flavor. So, I had desided to add imitation meat crumbs to the spaghetti sauce to inhance the recipe. But, I don't think it needed it. I took the advice from others about patting dry the sliced eggplant in the beginning too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Windlegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I love this recipe although I do make some changes/additions!! I make it with 1 eggplant and 1 zucchini - let both of them sweat in a colander and then use them as the layers. I also use fat free ricotta and a bit of parmesan cheese (no mozzarella around!) on each layer. I tend to like homemade pasta sauces so I can add tons of veggies!!! Overall an awesome idea and I've had tons of compliments!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I tried this recipe exactly as written, and have to say that I too found the eggplant waaay too salty. I also didn't care for the bacon in this recipe, although my husband liked it. I made it again, leaving out the bacon. And instead of salting the eggplant, I peeled and sliced it, spread it on an oiled pie plate and nuked til soft, about 4 minutes. Perfecto!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darkgardyner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I love this recipe. I made some changes. I did let the eggplant sweat but only salted one side and pressed the slices between paper towels. I then bake the eggplant on 425 for 20 min while I prepare the sauce. I don’t use bacon because the sauce I make has meat in it. My family loves it and it is a great dish to take to friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Thanks for the recipe, my husband and I really liked it. I did 2 things a little different. I didn't have bacon slices so I used Hormel Real Bacon Bits about 2 1/2 oz from the 3 oz bottle and I layered it just like everything else. (The original recipe didn't say to layer the bacon.) It didn't have a big bacon flavor, but each layer was thoroughly covered with bacon. I had left over eggplant so I grilled it with olive oil and balsamic vinegar and a dash of salt, pepper, garlic powder and onion powder. I notice the paper thin slices tasted the best. Next time I plan to make all of my eggplant slices paper thin, and grill them the same way and then put it in the lasagna and see how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This recipe was easy and delicious. I substituted the bacon for ground beef, and I also used a can of crushed tomatoes and tomato paste with oregano and basil for the spaghetti sauce (to cut down on added sugar). I also boiled the eggplants for a few minutes and put it in the micro for a few minutes until it was soft. Be sure to dab it with paper towels to get rid of some of the water at this point. When it came out of the oven, it smelled heavenly and the eggplants were melt-in-your-mouth tender. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Purdie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Just made this dish, and grilled the eggplant first. Substituted Cottage Cheese for Ricotta only because that was all I had. Turned out great. A little soupy, so I would use less sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States