Nat and Darcy's Amazing Eggplant Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
As an eggplant freak, I really enjoyed this recipe, though I would stress that it's necessary to boil the eggplant for at least 45 minutes before using it. And like some of the others, I used ground beef instead of bacon for more of a "lasagna" taste. I would definitely try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
I loved the idea of lasagna without the noodles! I used my favorite lasagna recipe but replaced the noodles with the eggplant. After reading comments I did the following to prepare my eggplant: sliced, placed in a pan with about a tsp of heated olive oil and salted. When the oil had been soaked up and the eggplant had started to soften I added several Tablespoons of water. Then flipped and repeated with water. I tried it without the oil and it didn't work as well. My eggplant turned out golden and soft but was not mushy. I also used a round glass pan to accommidate for the shape of the eggplant. It worked perfectly! Thanks for the idea Natalie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LinC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
I modified this recipe by "frying" the eggplant slices in Pam olive oil spray in my electric skillet (pretty high heat). I also used hamburger instead of bacon mixed with the spaghetti sauce. Thanks Natalie for a great recipe using eggplant instead of lasagna noodles!! Tried again using lasagna noodles with the fried eggplant -- excellent!! I did not pre-cook the noodles, let them absorb the juice from the cheeses and sauce, bake covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Bethel, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
UGH! I should have read the reviews first! I'm not very versed in eggplant recipes, so i followed the directions to a "t". Where the recipe went horribly wrong was the salting/sweating. Brushing the salt off didn't do the trick (and may have been too late) - the eggplant was WAY too salty - even for me, a true salt lover. The reciepe is good in theory, bad in direction. Definitely prep the eggplant with a different method! And this takes much more cooking time, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I read through the other recipes and loved the idea of "frying" in pam. I did salt one side of the eggplant and then fry it in the pam. The plant came out nicely browned and soft. I then used the ricotta cheese recipe, it all came out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
I really liked this, especially using the eggplant as "noodles". Only problems I had was my eggplant was too small so there was not enough noodles and I sliced some strips too thick. Next time a really large eggplant or 2 smaller ones. I froze my leftovers and used them as quick lunches during the week. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
This dish was very good. I will change a few things the next time I make it though. I will boil the eggplant a little first, to soften it and omit the bacon, it was to dominating of a flavor in this dish. Me and my husband enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I made a number of modifications so bear with my "review". I used half an eggplant, 1 small zucchini and 1 small yellow squash. I sliced each very thinly and didn't salt or sweat. Instead of red sauce, I used 2 c of ricotta mixed with 2 eggs and italian seasonings. Lastly, I substituted prociutto for the bacon. The results were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
I made this for my girlfriends the other night, and they cleaned out my pan!!! They loved it. It was so good, my mom and I had to sneak a couple of pieces to work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Reese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I tried this recipe exactly as written, and have to say that I too found the eggplant waaay too salty. I also didn't care for the bacon in this recipe, although my husband liked it. I made it again, leaving out the bacon. And instead of salting the eggplant, I peeled and sliced it, spread it on an oiled pie plate and nuked til soft, about 4 minutes. Perfecto!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darkgardyner

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Linda's Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy 5-star lasagna with ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States