Napoleon's Banana Muffin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
The taste of these were AMAZING!!! The best banana bread/muffin/cake I have ever made. I didn't have any spiced rum, so I used whiskey and added 1 tsp. vanilla and 1/2 tsp. nutmeg. A lot of other reviewers questioned the amount of sugar and I didn't realize until I was putting it together just how much is in the recipe (1.5 cups white, 2+ cups brown). I am wondering if anyone else's muffins ended up kind of like brown sugar/caramel lava cakes? And I don't know if I over mixed the batter or something, but I had enough for 24 muffins and a small 6"x6" cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Most who have reviewed this has stated these muffins are really sweet and they are right. I believe I will also cut down on the sugar a little bit next time. I didn't have the cognac, but the taste of the spiced rum on its own was good. They did have a little bit more of a spongy cake like texture, but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
LOVE these muffins! They are sweet but I didn't find them too sweet at all. I'm also lazy and just sprinkled cropped almonds on top instead of the suggested topping so that may have reduced the over all sweetness. I get requests for them all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khueggen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
OMG!!! What a great muffin. or cupcake. Whatever is was it was amazing. I have done it twice, first time I didn't have any cognac so I used all spiced rum and the 2nd time I found my cognac and did the recipe as stated. I had some cinnamon sugar to use up so I sprinkled the tops with some of that. After they were cooled I made a butter-cream cheese icing with a couple of tbsp of icing sugar and a tsp of lemon juice. A quick swirl of icing made these fabulous! This is my new go to recipe to use up those bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
These muffins were ridiculously sweet. I even left off the streusel topping and it was still too sweet. But the banana rum flavor was delicious. I would make these again but I need to play with the amount of sugar. These would be great with some walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I also cut the sugars about in half.. I used brandy and malibu rum as the alcohol ingredients, and subbed some yogurt for the butter because i was nearly out of butter, and to make them a little healthier. YUM YUM! I made mine as mini muffins:) I am not even a banana bread lover, but these smelled amazing as they bake, the rum, banana and coconut essence in the malibu rum made them smell deliciously tropical!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I have to say, these really are one of the prettiest muffins I've ever made. I followed the recipe as close as I could having cut it in half. I did add 1/2 c. chopped roasted walnuts, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg and I skipped the topping and just sprinkled the tops with cinnamon/sugar. I think these are a little too sweet but the flavor is the best I've had in a banana muffin. This was right on with cooking time and amount of muffins made. I think this recipe would be perfect with the sugar cut in half and my small adjustments. NOTE: This muffin recipe didn't overflow in my muffin tins like I've had happen with other recipes. I filled each muffin tin with an overflowing 1/4 c. of batter. EDITED: I have made this muffin recipe three times since first reviewing it. It has become our favorite banana muffin to date. I did cut back the white sugar to just under 1/4 c. and added one more banana, chopped TO HALF A RECIPE'S WORTH. The toasted walnuts I added really make this stellar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Absolutely delicious! These were a big hit with everyone! I upped the 1/3c. brown sugar to 2/3c. Also used 1/4c. brown and 1/4c. white instead of the 1/2c. brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
awesome, well worth the work, will do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Great flavor, but tooth-achingly sweet even after cutting back the sugars a bit. Bananas are one of the most sugary fruits, not to mention the rum's sweetness. What I used this time: 1/2 brown, 1/4 honey, 1/2 white, 1/2 brown. What I'll use next time: 1/2 brown, 1/4 honey, 1/4 white, 1/4 brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States