Napoleon's Banana Muffin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Incredible! I made this in a bundt cake pan, spraying the pan with nonstick/flour spray, sprinkling chopped nuts into the bottom before putting in part of the batter... then using the "streusel" portion of the recipe (omitting the butter) mixed with 1-2 Tbsp. cocoa powder as 2 separate "layers" between the batter (pour in some batter, sprinkle streusel, more batter, more streusel, and top with the last of the batter. I baked it at 350-degrees for an hour, with no other adjustments for high altitude (we're at 7220-ft). When it's cut, the streusel inside made it look like it was a lot more work than it really was. This really beats banana bread for using up some very ripe bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
These are cupcakes, not muffins, and they are fabulous. I reduced the white sugar, and made my own spiced rum by mixing Mount Gay rum with a little vanilla and allspice. The next time I make these--and there will definitely be a next time--I will cut the cinnamon in the streusel topping in half. Serve these as a dessert or with afternoon tea, not breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I have to say, these really are one of the prettiest muffins I've ever made. I followed the recipe as close as I could having cut it in half. I did add 1/2 c. chopped roasted walnuts, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg and I skipped the topping and just sprinkled the tops with cinnamon/sugar. I think these are a little too sweet but the flavor is the best I've had in a banana muffin. This was right on with cooking time and amount of muffins made. I think this recipe would be perfect with the sugar cut in half and my small adjustments. NOTE: This muffin recipe didn't overflow in my muffin tins like I've had happen with other recipes. I filled each muffin tin with an overflowing 1/4 c. of batter. EDITED: I have made this muffin recipe three times since first reviewing it. It has become our favorite banana muffin to date. I did cut back the white sugar to just under 1/4 c. and added one more banana, chopped TO HALF A RECIPE'S WORTH. The toasted walnuts I added really make this stellar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
These muffins were ridiculously sweet. I even left off the streusel topping and it was still too sweet. But the banana rum flavor was delicious. I would make these again but I need to play with the amount of sugar. These would be great with some walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Great flavor, but tooth-achingly sweet even after cutting back the sugars a bit. Bananas are one of the most sugary fruits, not to mention the rum's sweetness. What I used this time: 1/2 brown, 1/4 honey, 1/2 white, 1/2 brown. What I'll use next time: 1/2 brown, 1/4 honey, 1/4 white, 1/4 brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
My kids and I loved this recipe. It got rid of a lot of yucky old bananas and the booze didn't intoxicate the children. Perfect on 2 counts LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
Found these a bit too sweet. I'd cut down on the sugar next time - or omit the topping. Rum flavour is enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
Awesome banana muffin, lots of banana flavor! Love using spiced rum. Make the streusal before you mix the muffin batter, so you don't lose any leavening power. I topped the stresal with sliced almonds before baking. Yummy. Also, if you make your own spiced alcohol from cheap vodka or whatever is on sale, the flavor is much stronger and you won't need to add powdered spices. This trick is good for lots of recipes, epecially pumpkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIUKAT

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I just baked these for dessert. Changed just a few things. I only had 3 very ripe bananas so I halved the whole recipe. I also didn't have the spiced rum so I substituted apricot brandy. I used my 6 bundt pan (small bundts). Sprinkled chopped walnuts in and then half the batter in each, then the crumb topping (minus the butter, but added a few walnuts instead) then the rest of the batter over the six bundts. Baked for 25 minutes. My boyfriend who HATES bananas and doesn't care for any type of nuts, thought they were great! This is a keeper. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Double Yum! This is like Bananas Foster in a muffin. I didn't have spiced rum on hand, so I took the recommendation of the other reviewer and substituted with a little vanilla and some allspice and it worked out great. This one goes into the permanent file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States