Napoleon's Banana Muffin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
Delicious recipe, loved the flavor of spiced rum and the cognac, the topping added a nice crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
Awesome banana muffin, lots of banana flavor! Love using spiced rum. Make the streusal before you mix the muffin batter, so you don't lose any leavening power. I topped the stresal with sliced almonds before baking. Yummy. Also, if you make your own spiced alcohol from cheap vodka or whatever is on sale, the flavor is much stronger and you won't need to add powdered spices. This trick is good for lots of recipes, epecially pumpkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIUKAT

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
Found these a bit too sweet. I'd cut down on the sugar next time - or omit the topping. Rum flavour is enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
My husband loves these muffins. I make him muffins for breakfast every week and freeze them. He asks for these all the time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Huntingtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
These are cupcakes, not muffins, and they are fabulous. I reduced the white sugar, and made my own spiced rum by mixing Mount Gay rum with a little vanilla and allspice. The next time I make these--and there will definitely be a next time--I will cut the cinnamon in the streusel topping in half. Serve these as a dessert or with afternoon tea, not breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Incredible! I made this in a bundt cake pan, spraying the pan with nonstick/flour spray, sprinkling chopped nuts into the bottom before putting in part of the batter... then using the "streusel" portion of the recipe (omitting the butter) mixed with 1-2 Tbsp. cocoa powder as 2 separate "layers" between the batter (pour in some batter, sprinkle streusel, more batter, more streusel, and top with the last of the batter. I baked it at 350-degrees for an hour, with no other adjustments for high altitude (we're at 7220-ft). When it's cut, the streusel inside made it look like it was a lot more work than it really was. This really beats banana bread for using up some very ripe bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
My kids and I loved this recipe. It got rid of a lot of yucky old bananas and the booze didn't intoxicate the children. Perfect on 2 counts LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
I'm sorry - I was disappointed with this recipe. It was more work than the average muffin recipe, and the end result was a chewy (rather than moist) texture and overly sweet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
These muffins were just incredible. I sent a batch in to my husband's work and was emailed thanks for days. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
It's no wonder this recipe has 5 stars! Moist, savory, delicious! A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States