Napoleon's Banana Muffin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This a great recipe, I normally tweak it as follows, when making 24 servings.. add 2 cups of soaked raisins or blueberries add 2 cups chopped nuts take 1/2 cup of alcohol and fill with prunes and soak (from the recipe part of recipe), blend in food processor replace all sugar with 3/4 of splenda brown
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
My fiance and I made these muffins over the weekend and they turned out absolutely perfect! We literally couldn't stop eating them. I walked some to my neighbors next door when they were still warm out of the oven and they said they were so good, they wanted the recipe. Even a few days later, they are still as fresh as the day we made them. I highly recommend this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKI101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Yummy! They are lighter than banana bread, and the liquor gives them a different taste. From now on my ripe bananas will have to be split between Janet's Rich Banana Bread and this recipe. Just delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
These are awesome!! Everyone loved them! They were very moist!! Loved the crumb topping. Thanks for sharing! We'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTA920

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I'm always looking for muffin recipes with a twist of the unexpected and this one was a delicious twist. I cut back on the amount of sugar, substituted Jim Beam for cognac and will probably omit the topping the next time I make them. They didn't need anything extra to make them a memorable muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATE53

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wellsboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Wow! This is really sweet. Make sure to cook them well, and don't make the mistake I did and make them in x-large muffin tins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
These would have been great, but much too sweet in my opinion. I might try these again With half the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Yum. Yum. Yum! I halved the recipe, 24 muffins was way too much for my meager banana supply, and used all ingredients as listed... these are absolutely delicious, and a perfect way to use up overripe bananas and the cognac that noone drinks! That's all for now, I have to get another one for my 2 year old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I just baked these for dessert. Changed just a few things. I only had 3 very ripe bananas so I halved the whole recipe. I also didn't have the spiced rum so I substituted apricot brandy. I used my 6 bundt pan (small bundts). Sprinkled chopped walnuts in and then half the batter in each, then the crumb topping (minus the butter, but added a few walnuts instead) then the rest of the batter over the six bundts. Baked for 25 minutes. My boyfriend who HATES bananas and doesn't care for any type of nuts, thought they were great! This is a keeper. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Outstanding recipe, but I made them with one twist. I replaced the cognac and rum with an equal amount of Jameson's whiskey to add an Irish touch. Slainte!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gwc

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States