Napoleon's Banana Muffin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
The taste of these were AMAZING!!! The best banana bread/muffin/cake I have ever made. I didn't have any spiced rum, so I used whiskey and added 1 tsp. vanilla and 1/2 tsp. nutmeg. A lot of other reviewers questioned the amount of sugar and I didn't realize until I was putting it together just how much is in the recipe (1.5 cups white, 2+ cups brown). I am wondering if anyone else's muffins ended up kind of like brown sugar/caramel lava cakes? And I don't know if I over mixed the batter or something, but I had enough for 24 muffins and a small 6"x6" cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Most who have reviewed this has stated these muffins are really sweet and they are right. I believe I will also cut down on the sugar a little bit next time. I didn't have the cognac, but the taste of the spiced rum on its own was good. They did have a little bit more of a spongy cake like texture, but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
LOVE these muffins! They are sweet but I didn't find them too sweet at all. I'm also lazy and just sprinkled cropped almonds on top instead of the suggested topping so that may have reduced the over all sweetness. I get requests for them all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khueggen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
OMG!!! What a great muffin. or cupcake. Whatever is was it was amazing. I have done it twice, first time I didn't have any cognac so I used all spiced rum and the 2nd time I found my cognac and did the recipe as stated. I had some cinnamon sugar to use up so I sprinkled the tops with some of that. After they were cooled I made a butter-cream cheese icing with a couple of tbsp of icing sugar and a tsp of lemon juice. A quick swirl of icing made these fabulous! This is my new go to recipe to use up those bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
These muffins were ridiculously sweet. I even left off the streusel topping and it was still too sweet. But the banana rum flavor was delicious. I would make these again but I need to play with the amount of sugar. These would be great with some walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I also cut the sugars about in half.. I used brandy and malibu rum as the alcohol ingredients, and subbed some yogurt for the butter because i was nearly out of butter, and to make them a little healthier. YUM YUM! I made mine as mini muffins:) I am not even a banana bread lover, but these smelled amazing as they bake, the rum, banana and coconut essence in the malibu rum made them smell deliciously tropical!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I have to say, these really are one of the prettiest muffins I've ever made. I followed the recipe as close as I could having cut it in half. I did add 1/2 c. chopped roasted walnuts, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg and I skipped the topping and just sprinkled the tops with cinnamon/sugar. I think these are a little too sweet but the flavor is the best I've had in a banana muffin. This was right on with cooking time and amount of muffins made. I think this recipe would be perfect with the sugar cut in half and my small adjustments. NOTE: This muffin recipe didn't overflow in my muffin tins like I've had happen with other recipes. I filled each muffin tin with an overflowing 1/4 c. of batter. EDITED: I have made this muffin recipe three times since first reviewing it. It has become our favorite banana muffin to date. I did cut back the white sugar to just under 1/4 c. and added one more banana, chopped TO HALF A RECIPE'S WORTH. The toasted walnuts I added really make this stellar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Absolutely delicious! These were a big hit with everyone! I upped the 1/3c. brown sugar to 2/3c. Also used 1/4c. brown and 1/4c. white instead of the 1/2c. brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
awesome, well worth the work, will do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Great flavor, but tooth-achingly sweet even after cutting back the sugars a bit. Bananas are one of the most sugary fruits, not to mention the rum's sweetness. What I used this time: 1/2 brown, 1/4 honey, 1/2 white, 1/2 brown. What I'll use next time: 1/2 brown, 1/4 honey, 1/4 white, 1/4 brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States