Napa Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I use Oriental flavor ramen noodles, and add a little of the flavoring packet into the crunchies mixture. I also add some chicken (or in my case, vegetarian chicken), cooked with the remainder of the seasoning. I usually cook the noodles/crunchies in a frying pan on the stove. We like to add sliced water chestnuts for extra crunch (without fat!), and some cilantro to the salad. A little sesame oil in the dressing is great, and canned mandarin oranges are also a fantastic addition to the salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This is a great salad! I only gave it four stars because I wish it were a way to get the same flavor without all the calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Park City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I've made this recipe for years but mine is a little different...3 containers: 1) 1 large head of napa cabbage and a bunch of green onions chopped. 2) 1 cup olive oil, I use 1/2 c. splenda and 1/2 c. sugar,1/2 c. white vinegar, 2 TBSP. soy sauce 1/4 tsp. pepper and the seasonings from the chicken ramen noodles. 3) 1 stick of butter, 1/2 c. sesame seeds (this is a lot so use to taste, 2 pkgs. ramen noodles and about 3 oz. slivered almonds. Slice/shred step number 1 thinly and refrigerate overnight. I don't cook step number 2. I just put it in a jar and shake for a day or so to combine flavors. I cook step 3 on the stove until slightly brown and remove to paper towels to drain. I then store in tupperware until ready to use. Keep the 3 separate and toss at serving time. This will be a family favorite for years to come. I'm sure you can figure out a lower calorie version...enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I used my food processor to grate the Napa cabbage. I ended up with watery pulp that is not usable. Then I tried the slicing blade of the food processor and it wasn't much better. I tried slicing by hand but that yielded large pieces of the white part that were not appetizing. IF I decide to make this again I will use regular cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
WOW. Who knew cabbage salad could be so delish. I have been munching on it for lunch this week and loving it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Crunchy, tangy, fresh! Enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Perfect!! Exactly what I was looking for. Was delicious! Loved by all and not a single bite left!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Huge hit at potluck parties. I have taken it to about 10BBQs just this summer and have been asked for the recipe over and over. Snap tp make. Hint: I make extra crunchies and dressing for the next recipe. The dressing will keep about a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Omitted almonds (had none), but otherwise as directed. Everyone liked it. My serving had no ramen, only sesame, as I can't eat gluten. Even so, I give my plate 5 stars, too. Very simple, easy, and without the ramen, very quick, too. I didn't miss it. I served with grilled Asian chicken and fried rice. Delicious, very light. Perfect meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
While very delicious just exactly as the recipe is written, I did find it too greasy for my tastes. I then tried the dressing with only 1/2 c extra virgin olive oil, and it was better and the taste did not change at all. I will definitely make again and keep experimenting with the amount of oil in the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Mad Hatter Salad

A slaw-based salad with broccoli florets, ramen noodles, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States