Napa Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I use Oriental flavor ramen noodles, and add a little of the flavoring packet into the crunchies mixture. I also add some chicken (or in my case, vegetarian chicken), cooked with the remainder of the seasoning. I usually cook the noodles/crunchies in a frying pan on the stove. We like to add sliced water chestnuts for extra crunch (without fat!), and some cilantro to the salad. A little sesame oil in the dressing is great, and canned mandarin oranges are also a fantastic addition to the salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This is a great salad! I only gave it four stars because I wish it were a way to get the same flavor without all the calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Park City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I've made this recipe for years but mine is a little different...3 containers: 1) 1 large head of napa cabbage and a bunch of green onions chopped. 2) 1 cup olive oil, I use 1/2 c. splenda and 1/2 c. sugar,1/2 c. white vinegar, 2 TBSP. soy sauce 1/4 tsp. pepper and the seasonings from the chicken ramen noodles. 3) 1 stick of butter, 1/2 c. sesame seeds (this is a lot so use to taste, 2 pkgs. ramen noodles and about 3 oz. slivered almonds. Slice/shred step number 1 thinly and refrigerate overnight. I don't cook step number 2. I just put it in a jar and shake for a day or so to combine flavors. I cook step 3 on the stove until slightly brown and remove to paper towels to drain. I then store in tupperware until ready to use. Keep the 3 separate and toss at serving time. This will be a family favorite for years to come. I'm sure you can figure out a lower calorie version...enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I used my food processor to grate the Napa cabbage. I ended up with watery pulp that is not usable. Then I tried the slicing blade of the food processor and it wasn't much better. I tried slicing by hand but that yielded large pieces of the white part that were not appetizing. IF I decide to make this again I will use regular cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
WOW. Who knew cabbage salad could be so delish. I have been munching on it for lunch this week and loving it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Crunchy, tangy, fresh! Enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Perfect!! Exactly what I was looking for. Was delicious! Loved by all and not a single bite left!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Huge hit at potluck parties. I have taken it to about 10BBQs just this summer and have been asked for the recipe over and over. Snap tp make. Hint: I make extra crunchies and dressing for the next recipe. The dressing will keep about a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Omitted almonds (had none), but otherwise as directed. Everyone liked it. My serving had no ramen, only sesame, as I can't eat gluten. Even so, I give my plate 5 stars, too. Very simple, easy, and without the ramen, very quick, too. I didn't miss it. I served with grilled Asian chicken and fried rice. Delicious, very light. Perfect meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
While very delicious just exactly as the recipe is written, I did find it too greasy for my tastes. I then tried the dressing with only 1/2 c extra virgin olive oil, and it was better and the taste did not change at all. I will definitely make again and keep experimenting with the amount of oil in the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States