Napa Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Yummy. Will make it again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Excellent recipe! I made it exactly as written except I used 2 packages of ramen noodles instead of one becuase I had a huge head of napa cabbage (which shredded beautifully in the food processor). It was a big hit at our Memorial Day cookout!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Our family has always called this "Dead Man's Salad" because we always take it to funerals. We also make it for most of our family holidays... and I always take it to work potlucks!!! It is always a rave and everyone asks for me to bring it again for the next function. Easy, easy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Even though it's really good, it could still be improved by reducing the amount of butter in the 'crunchies'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
We used 1/2 head of cabbage and that was a large amount. The other ingredients were as directed and that easily served 8 Very good salad! Enjoyed by all of our guests.Will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Someone gave this a 1 because they pulverized their own cabbage in a food processor and got a watery mush. I think your own cooking might be a 1, but this recipe is a solid 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I use Oriental flavor ramen noodles, and add a little of the flavoring packet into the crunchies mixture. I also add some chicken (or in my case, vegetarian chicken), cooked with the remainder of the seasoning. I usually cook the noodles/crunchies in a frying pan on the stove. We like to add sliced water chestnuts for extra crunch (without fat!), and some cilantro to the salad. A little sesame oil in the dressing is great, and canned mandarin oranges are also a fantastic addition to the salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This is a great salad! I only gave it four stars because I wish it were a way to get the same flavor without all the calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Park City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I've made this recipe for years but mine is a little different...3 containers: 1) 1 large head of napa cabbage and a bunch of green onions chopped. 2) 1 cup olive oil, I use 1/2 c. splenda and 1/2 c. sugar,1/2 c. white vinegar, 2 TBSP. soy sauce 1/4 tsp. pepper and the seasonings from the chicken ramen noodles. 3) 1 stick of butter, 1/2 c. sesame seeds (this is a lot so use to taste, 2 pkgs. ramen noodles and about 3 oz. slivered almonds. Slice/shred step number 1 thinly and refrigerate overnight. I don't cook step number 2. I just put it in a jar and shake for a day or so to combine flavors. I cook step 3 on the stove until slightly brown and remove to paper towels to drain. I then store in tupperware until ready to use. Keep the 3 separate and toss at serving time. This will be a family favorite for years to come. I'm sure you can figure out a lower calorie version...enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I used my food processor to grate the Napa cabbage. I ended up with watery pulp that is not usable. Then I tried the slicing blade of the food processor and it wasn't much better. I tried slicing by hand but that yielded large pieces of the white part that were not appetizing. IF I decide to make this again I will use regular cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Kugel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Sesame Pasta Chicken Salad

A pasta salad with chicken, sesame dressing, and fresh herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States