Napa Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
This recipe is "THE BEST" My family of picky eaters love it. I did add mandarin oranges and some of the juice to the dressing, and shredded carrots, and very small head of red cabbage. This was so colorful. Next time I will add some fried chicken breasts cut up on top. This is a KEEPER I will make it often. Thanks for sharing!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
Really good. I used cabbage from my garden. I didn't have almonds so I added extra sesame seeds. I also used on 1/2 the butter and 1/2 the sugar. The dressing was still REALLY sweet. It was tasty but it would be great with less sugar, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antrim, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
We ate this as a main course. My veggie shy kids ate it willingly. I made it twice and made some adjustments the second time. First of all I didn't put in the ramen seasoning packet. The first time I did, and after a few bites my kids and I agreed that it was too salty and left an unpleasant aftertaste, because of the msg. We didn't miss the flavor packet at all the second time. Secondly, I added two packets of ramen noodles, and 1/2 cup butter, and then I reserved some of the noodle mixture for sprinkling on top as the salad was served. I did this because the crunchy noodle mixture is my favorite part. I increased the rice vinegar and oil to 1/3 cup each, because the I didn't add the flavor packet it needed a little extra flavor. The last thing that I did different was add chicken. As another review said, this salad needs substance, and the chicken adds just the right touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
Always a HUGE hit at potlucks. I really like using the napa cabbage because it looks more impressive... but I have used the cabbage mixture before too. I also add 1/2 packet or so of the flavor packet from the ramen noodles (chicken or oreintal flavor) to the crunchies while toasting in the skillet. I also skip the oven and just toast the crunchies to golden brown in the skillet... it saves time. The dressing in this recipe is also a little better than some of the other recipes... but it depends on how much time you have. Thanks for sharing!! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
Totally out of this world, Everyone loved it The flavor was incredible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
Delicious! I didn't change a thing on the first try, but I will next time. I am in the camp that says "you can't have too much butter" but 1/2 cup really IS too much. I think 1/4 would be plenty, since with 1/2 I had to spoon the ingredients out of the butter and drain on paper towels. The sweet dressing is a refreshing change of pace. I'd like to add a sliced up grilled chicken breast and make it a whole meal and will try with peanuts for my almond allergic sibling next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
YUUUUMMMMYYY!!! I had a salad similar to this one years ago, but had not found the recipe. I must say this one is even better than the first one I had. I will definitly be making this one again, and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Pomona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
My mother-in-law makes a recipe like this. I knew what was in it so I looked it up on here. It is just excellent. I think I will take the advice of others and only put the dressing on what we're eating so leftovers don't get soggy. Also, I don't bake the "crunchies" either. I just toast them in a skillet with a little butter. Mmmmm. FAAAABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie-Kate

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
This is an excellent salad! I brought this to a potluck at work and the bowl was wiped clean! I did make modifications, but I do that with almost all recipes. I used pre-shredded cole slaw mix instead of the cabbage. I doubled the recipe, and added shredded chicken and a can of manarin oranges. I also reduced the vinegar by an 1/8 of a cup and replaced it with Mandarin orange juice that I drained off the oranges. The crunchies were fantastic! The only thing that I did differently is that when toasting the crunchies, I sprinked about 1 teaspoon of the seasoning packet from the ramen noodles over it and mixed well (I used the chicken flavor). This added just a touch of saltiness to them, which matched perfectly with the sweet and sour dressing. This was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
This salad was wonderful! I served it at a dinner party and everyone loved it! They all wanted the recipe. I used light olive oil verses the vegetable oil and it was wonderful!! Will make this one over and over again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Mad Hatter Salad

A slaw-based salad with broccoli florets, ramen noodles, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States