Napa Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I didn't find it too salty at all. What I did was poured the seasoning packet on the coleslaw and mixed it well. This helps to macerate the coleslaw. I toasted the almonds first, in a skillet over medium head until I could start to smell them. Then I added twice the amount of sesame seed and a tablespoon of brown sugar until coated. Remove the almonds just before you think they're perfect, because they'll continue cooking out of the skillet. These puppies are H-O-T! I also added just a teaspoon of fish sauce in to the oil dressing. RR quote, "Just enough to make 'em go "hmmmm... what is that?"" When I served it, I completely forgot about adding the scallions. Amazing, the entire thing was gone in a flash. But next time, I'll remember the scallions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Simmons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I made this yesterday for the 4th of July. I've had this kind of salad before, but had never made it myself. This was much better than any I'd ever had! I added a bag of shredded carrots and subbed sliced almonds for slivered, because I like them better. I used the seasoning packet (Oriental Ramen)on the crunchies. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
Just what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linwood, Michigan, USA
Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
This salad is delicious! The only 2 things I did different is cut the oil to only 1/2 cup instead of 3/4, and it did not change it a bit. I also cut back on the butter to mix the ramen noodles, almonds and seseme with. It tasted great to me. Everyone who has ever been served this loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mish1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
This is definitely my favorite version of the recipe! A little bit time consuming, but definitely worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
Took this to a pot luck party and everyone raved over it, wanting to know who brought the salad. My dishes are NEVER the ones that people go nuts for so it was fun. Great recipe, easy to make (I used the bagged, shredded slaw). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpine, Texas, USA
Living In: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
This is a favorite of my family's and everyone who has some! Don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Ryshk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parsippany, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Minisink, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I made this salad for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it! The crunchies took a while to brown, but it was well worth the wait. You can't miss with this recipe for any family dinner or potluck party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Pretty darn good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I brought this to my neighborhood block party and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Mad Hatter Salad

A slaw-based salad with broccoli florets, ramen noodles, and a tangy dressing.

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States