Napa Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
Yum-o!!! I love this salad. I do make some changes to suit our taste (omit the onions and sesame seeds and decrease the almonds, butter & oil in a desperate attempt to lower the fat in this recipe since I love it so much).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
I use Cut up cooked chicken breasts, grapes, and instead of almonds, I use cashews. You make the sauce from 1 packet of ramen noodles. In this I chose rice vinegar. YUM everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
Wonderful! Great potluck dish. I added chicken and it went well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Niguel, California, USA
Living In: Southlake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Hearing people rate this recipe, but switching everything only makes it sound confusing to me. My husband made this for me and he FOLLOWED the RECIPE EXACTLY! WE BOTH LOVED IT! We were both pleasantly surprised how well the ingredients blended together. WE WILL MAKE AGAIN, JUST AS IS! ~Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4everLuuvd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I didn't find it too salty at all. What I did was poured the seasoning packet on the coleslaw and mixed it well. This helps to macerate the coleslaw. I toasted the almonds first, in a skillet over medium head until I could start to smell them. Then I added twice the amount of sesame seed and a tablespoon of brown sugar until coated. Remove the almonds just before you think they're perfect, because they'll continue cooking out of the skillet. These puppies are H-O-T! I also added just a teaspoon of fish sauce in to the oil dressing. RR quote, "Just enough to make 'em go "hmmmm... what is that?"" When I served it, I completely forgot about adding the scallions. Amazing, the entire thing was gone in a flash. But next time, I'll remember the scallions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QAEDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I made this yesterday for the 4th of July. I've had this kind of salad before, but had never made it myself. This was much better than any I'd ever had! I added a bag of shredded carrots and subbed sliced almonds for slivered, because I like them better. I used the seasoning packet (Oriental Ramen)on the crunchies. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
Just what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linwood, Michigan, USA
Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
This salad is delicious! The only 2 things I did different is cut the oil to only 1/2 cup instead of 3/4, and it did not change it a bit. I also cut back on the butter to mix the ramen noodles, almonds and seseme with. It tasted great to me. Everyone who has ever been served this loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mish1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
This is definitely my favorite version of the recipe! A little bit time consuming, but definitely worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
Took this to a pot luck party and everyone raved over it, wanting to know who brought the salad. My dishes are NEVER the ones that people go nuts for so it was fun. Great recipe, easy to make (I used the bagged, shredded slaw). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpine, Texas, USA
Living In: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States