Napa Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This is "The Best". My sister is asked to make this for every family function we have. When she brings it to gatherings, she brings the dressing in a container and shakes it well before tossing the salad, then adds the crunchies. I'm so glad she shared this recipe with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
My daughter and I loved it, the guys not so much. I would make it again for us, maybe a little sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamala

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Wonderful. Everyone and I mean everyone loved it. I keep the dressing and the toastd crunchies made up and a bag of shredded cabbage in the frig and throw it together a couple night a week. Sometime I throw in some mandarin oranges or pineapple tidbits. Delicious. Really wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Yum yum yum! A great way to eat Napa cabbage and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This is the best cabbage salad I have had. I have tried so many of this kind. Followed the recipe as-is and it was great. Sesame seeds add a lot of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This was a great recipe to go along with a broccoli-beef stir fry. Next time I'll cut down a bit on the oil in the dressing - it separated a bit as it cooled, and the final salad was slightly too oily. Also, as it was my first time using napa cabbage, I made the mistake of trying to shred it in a food processor - just running a knife through to chop finely seems to work best! All in all a delicious blend of flavors, and quite easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Perfect potluck dish for traveling! Here's how: make the dressing at home, let it cool and pour into a leakproof container, and seal the container in a ziplock bag. Gladlocks will leak! Toast the crunchies on the stovetop (in REAL butter, never the stuff in the tub!) and put crunchies in a container or quart-size ziplock bag. When you toast the nuts in real butter (not margarine), as the butter browns, the nuts become a little bit salty, and they offset the sweetness of the dressing. Do NOT use the seasoning packet; too much unhealthy sodium and MSG. Throw it away, it was only twenty cents and you're doing your body a favor. Nuts are heart- healthy; we prefer a mixture of pine nuts, sunflower seeds and sliced almonds because they look better and add texture. Use your nicest large bowl and tongs, and use the pre-shredded bag-o-cabbage to save time. When you arrive at your destination, put the cabbage in the bowl. As people line up to eat, add the dressing, a can of drained mandarin oranges, 1/2 cup of dried cranberries (Craisins), and the crunchies. Stir well to coat everything, but don't add the dressing too early or it gets soggy. This salad does not do well as a leftover. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I made this salad tonight for a quick meal for my husband and I...VERY GOOD!! I used the food processor to slice up the cabbage and this was ready in 15 minutes. I added 1/2 head of red cabbage, shredded and 1 medium red bell pepper, diced. Also added 1 cup of the preshredded "broccoli slaw" for the grocery store and tossed it all together. Excellent. Will definitely make again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Just made this last night - it was great! I heeded some of the other users comments and reduced the amount of butter and oil (and used EVOO), made the crunchies in the skillet, and added mandarin oranges and orange-ginger glazed chicken chunks(made in wok). I kept the dressing, salad and crunchies separate and put together only when about to eat. But I would never substitute with the pre-packaged slaw mix - Napa cabbage is so much tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Middlesex, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This recipe will remain in my cookbook. Everyone in my family really likes it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States