Nany's White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
this cake came out very flat, even as a double layer it really isn't and bigger than a single layer cake. i haven't ate it as it is my daughters smash cake but it does feel very dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie Oke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
My family loved it thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
i've done this recipe a few times and it's still my go-to for cupcakes--but that's all i use it for. i've tried using it for a layer cake, and as others have said, it doesn't rise much, and you end up with flat, kinda chewy layers. for cupcakes, though, since the volume's lessened, they rise just fine. HOWEVER, if you want to try making a layer cake with this one, here's what i'd do. add a teaspoon of baking soda and up the baking powder to a tablespoon. you could also cut the milk back to 3/4 cup and add an extra egg, which will also help it rise. if the flavour's not to your liking, and you don't mind altering the colour a little, use 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar, and double the amount of vanilla. should boost the flavour a little without making it overly sweet. but i almost always end up using brown sugar instead of white in any recipe i can, as i find it adds both flavour and sweetness instead of just that straightforward sugary taste. best wishes with your baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
This is not a "thick" cake. I had no problems with it rising. Followed the directions and ingredients exactly, except I made it in a 9x13 pan. I am eating it plain, because I wasn't sure if I would like it and didn't want to waste my time making icing. Very happy with this cake and would make it again. I might try adding a little more vanilla next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This is a very good and reliable basic white cake, made even better, at least for me, with a couple of small tweaks - 1/2 cup butter rather than 1/3, and 1/2 cup milk rather than the full cup called for. Also, since some reviewers reported this didn't rise as much as they would have liked I felt that, excluding the obvious cause of expired baking powder, perhaps there was too MUCH baking powder, which then could have resulted in the opposite of the desired effect - so I reduced the amount to 1-1/2 tsp. rather than 2 tsp. A pinch of salt for me was 1/4 tsp. I baked these as cupcakes and was very pleased. (To finish them I removed a plug from each cupcake, filled them with strawberry jam, then frosted them with Strawberry Buttercream - sinful)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by KaylaE
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
My husband doesn't eat cake, ever! But when I made him try this he loved it! I topped it with a layer of homemade whipped cream and fresh strawberry sauce. The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I made 1 tier so far with this I wish I would of doubled the size to start because it did not fluff up like I wanted but it was the perfect density I was looking for tasted a lil bland I'll be adjusting the vanilla portions but overall quick n easy and had no prob with the cake coming out of the oven either smooth sailing over here just wish I doubled the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I made this cake last week for the first time. Everyone in my house just loved it. I made it again yesterday and it was gone by this morning. If you like a cake that is dense and moist this is the cake you need to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
It was super simple and it tasted delicious. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I needed a white cake that would be able to hold a serious chocolate frosting so I looked around and spotted this one. Read some of the reviews and gave it a go. Now, my mother always told me sour cream makes a good cake great, so I did add a cup of sour cream to this recipe. The sour cream in combination with everything in the recipe is perfect. Just perfect. It tastes phenominal, the cake is moist yet it is robust enough to hold gobs of super heavy frosting, so its great for birthdays and special occasion decorating. Thank you for sharing! A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States