Nany's White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
Alright. I was in a hurry to get a recipe that I had the ingredients for, and due to the rating of this cake, I didn't read the reviews. I suppose I should have. Mine turned out, like others, flat and crisp around the edges. Although this could be a decent cake with tweaking, it needs so much tweaking that I'm not going to bother. It's less work to find another recipe. It was still edible, with a liberal application of icing and blanched slivered almonds, but it was still pretty tough. I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I wish I had read the reviews before I used this recipe! I made cupcakes for a fundraiser and they were flat,tough, and not really sweet. The most people could say was the icing is good. Now I have to try and save my baking reputation!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
So glad I didn't read the reviews or I might have skipped this wonderful cake! Made 6 perfect mini- roses (Nordic) - they fell right out of the pans, and the cake is light and perfectly sweet! Thanks to Nany!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
Very delicious and fantastic with Pineapple icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
I was quite dissapointed with this cake. I set out this morning to make a poke cake for my son's 2nd birthday. I read the previous reviews and made the changes suggested, including really greasing the pan so the cake would come out well (still stuck), and I added a 3rd tsp of baking powder to avoid the flat cake problem the others had (still quite flat and heavy). The cake was also VERY brown around the edges (my oven temperature is correct). I will say that the cake had a good flavor, but i will not be making this one again. Off to buy a cake at the bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
What a waste of frosting! This cake did not rise much, so I cut the layers in half and made a four-layer half cake. Looked great, tasted awful. Very heavy, with an eggy taste. I'll stick to Duncan Hines from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
Excellent cake! I only made changes for our high altitude and pan size (I used a 9x13). Cake is very flavorful and moist. After we ate some plain, then we made a Poke Cake out of the rest with all natural strawberry jello. Great both ways. Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WriteHeart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
I loved this recipe, it was very simple and I didn't need to go out and buy any special ingredients which is what I liked about it the most. I made the cake in a 9x13 pan, it turned out very moist. I did alter it a little by adding a couple of TBSPs of peanut butter. I used a peanut butter frosting on the cake when it was still warm and let the frosting harden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
Tatse is good, but this batter does not rise in the slightest! Completely flat! I had to make another batch just to make it the height of a "normal" cake. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
I just made this today for Father's day!! Although I cut the sugar to 3/4 C. it was still too sweet for my dad who prefers really light cakes. i found it okay tho. i also cut the milk in half and used soy since my mom is lactose intolerant. still came out great! as if i bought a premixed box!! i unfortunately didn't oil the pan enough and the cake came out in pieces. but nevertheless, tasted great frosted with whipped cream and topped with strawberries! thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States