Nany's White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
heyyy...i made this cake..and it came out really well.. thank you for the recipe.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Great cake for creating design cakes. It holds together well but I would not split into 2 pans. I did one recipe as is in a bowl and one as is in a 9 in square to make a Mario Bros. 1 up cake for my 5 yr old's Super Mario Birthday. It is a dense cake but that is what I needed. Would also be great with a cream sauce and berries. Really great recipe thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I don't understand why people rated this cake so high. I wanted a 2 layer white cake for my birthday and needed one that was relatively easy for my fiancee to bake (he leaves this sort of thing to me, usually, but wanted to bake me a cake for my birthday). Thank God this cake is only for me because if I had needed a cake for someone else and made this I'd have been too embarrassed to take it anywhere. The layers aren't even a half inch thick. I guess it would have been fine if I'd doubled the recipe, unfortunately I was rushing to find him a simple recipe and he wouldn't let me help. Too late now, the (pan)cakes are already baked and sitting on my cooling rack waiting to be frosted. We'll see how it tastes, but judging by the crispy edges I'm not expecting much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I didn't read the reviews first. When I poured the batter into the 2 round pans it didn't half fill the pans. Like other reviewers have said the cake came out flat and is heavy tasting rather than moist and fluffy. If I'd read the reviews first I'd have doubled the recipe. I have skim milk in the house so I'm not sure if its the wrong kind of milk for the recipe. The cake tastes OK. I tried a chai buttercream recipe I found here with it and I halved that recipe and everything tastes fine. Its just a little weird having 1" layers on a cake. I might bake this cake again but I'll probably try other white cake recipes first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paola Eisner
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
We made this cake twice! It was delicious and we didn't have to change any of the ingredients. Would definitely recommend as a layer cake or in smaller pie tins. Makes a great sugar-crust on top : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paola Eisner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
the cake broke into pieces when I flipped it... and it didn't even taste good :( will never attempt to do again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I made this as my birthday cake and everyone really enjoyed it! My sister asked me to make into two sheet cakes for her friends birthday at work! All of her co -workers loved it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This was very good, but I would consider this more of a cake to layer with whipped cream and fruit. It isn't quite what I would call a "birthday cake" It is very heavy, but still tastes great! Instead of using milk I used 1/4 cup sour cream and 3/4 cup water and mixed together. This is a great alternative to milk if you don't have any when you are making a cake. You can also use 1/4 cup mayonnase and 3/4 cup water and mix together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I added a small package of French vanilla pudding, as one of the other reviewers did. I didn't add any extra liquid. My cake was yellow and was very similar to a yellow box cake. I used two pans, I'm not sure which size, and the layers were plenty large enough. I did add the baking powder after I had added all of the other ingredients. That may be why my layers were a decent size; my cake was also fluffier than a box cake. I was hoping this cake would be denser and not so sweet. But, I do think this is a good cake for what it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
The flavour of this cake was flat and floury. The texture was dense and crumbly. The layers barely rise and the recipe would have filled one pan. While some folks might like a dense texture, even a dense cake should have good flavour. Covered in a lot of icing it was passable--but I certainly wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States