Nany's White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Needs more leavening, but taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I've made this cake several time now and it has always come out perfect. i do only make it in a 9x13 pan and do really grease the pan. Instead of grease and flour I use grease and suggar to coat the pan. Delicious moist and dense cake that ready for berries or frosting. Most of the time it is gone before I ever to add anything. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This is a fabulous cake!!! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out wonderfully delicious. This is not a light and fluffy cake. It is dense and moist. I baked it in a loaf pan to serve with berries and cream...YUM! We served it at a pre-Independence day lunch...it did not last long. I am in the process of baking another for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
It wouldn't let me review without giving at least one star, but I say, NO stars! It doesn't rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I have used this recipie a lot. I love this cake and so does everybody else. I do add dry cooked vanilla pudding to mine and I also sift 1/2 of the flour and spoon the other 1/2 of the flour into the batter. I do also add a little more baking powder also. This does not get tough or dry and it is not so dense either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
heyyy...i made this cake..and it came out really well.. thank you for the recipe.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Great cake for creating design cakes. It holds together well but I would not split into 2 pans. I did one recipe as is in a bowl and one as is in a 9 in square to make a Mario Bros. 1 up cake for my 5 yr old's Super Mario Birthday. It is a dense cake but that is what I needed. Would also be great with a cream sauce and berries. Really great recipe thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I don't understand why people rated this cake so high. I wanted a 2 layer white cake for my birthday and needed one that was relatively easy for my fiancee to bake (he leaves this sort of thing to me, usually, but wanted to bake me a cake for my birthday). Thank God this cake is only for me because if I had needed a cake for someone else and made this I'd have been too embarrassed to take it anywhere. The layers aren't even a half inch thick. I guess it would have been fine if I'd doubled the recipe, unfortunately I was rushing to find him a simple recipe and he wouldn't let me help. Too late now, the (pan)cakes are already baked and sitting on my cooling rack waiting to be frosted. We'll see how it tastes, but judging by the crispy edges I'm not expecting much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I didn't read the reviews first. When I poured the batter into the 2 round pans it didn't half fill the pans. Like other reviewers have said the cake came out flat and is heavy tasting rather than moist and fluffy. If I'd read the reviews first I'd have doubled the recipe. I have skim milk in the house so I'm not sure if its the wrong kind of milk for the recipe. The cake tastes OK. I tried a chai buttercream recipe I found here with it and I halved that recipe and everything tastes fine. Its just a little weird having 1" layers on a cake. I might bake this cake again but I'll probably try other white cake recipes first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by K.Eisner
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
We made this cake twice! It was delicious and we didn't have to change any of the ingredients. Would definitely recommend as a layer cake or in smaller pie tins. Makes a great sugar-crust on top : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K.Eisner

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States