Nany's White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I made this cake because it's very easy and i had all the ingredients! I added 1 cup of vanilla yogurt to the batter and it turned out very good! light and airy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Super easy, super delicious! I must admit, I was a little concerned by so many who'd said this didn't rise properly, but I didn't have that problem at all. I made this cake yesteray for my husband for Valentine's Day. Followed the recipe exactly, except I used my heart-shaped layer cake pans (that are supposed to be the same volume as 8" round). I did do one thing which could have aided better rising - I used my Kitchen Aid mixer, and whipped it for several seconds both after adding the eggs, and then again after all ingredients were added. It rose perfectly, made a deliciously moist white cake. (I wonder if those for whom it didn't rise were using either expired baking powder or a margarine product instead of butter?) I wanted a very old-fashioned result, so I used a simple cooked brown sugar icing, and sprinkled some candy hearts around the perimiter of the plate to add "Valentiney-ness" - the result was exactly what I wanted, and my husband (and I) loved it! Thanks to Nany for passing down her fabulous recipe to MeaganColleen :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrisDee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Needs more leavening, but taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I've made this cake several time now and it has always come out perfect. i do only make it in a 9x13 pan and do really grease the pan. Instead of grease and flour I use grease and suggar to coat the pan. Delicious moist and dense cake that ready for berries or frosting. Most of the time it is gone before I ever to add anything. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This is a fabulous cake!!! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out wonderfully delicious. This is not a light and fluffy cake. It is dense and moist. I baked it in a loaf pan to serve with berries and cream...YUM! We served it at a pre-Independence day lunch...it did not last long. I am in the process of baking another for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
It wouldn't let me review without giving at least one star, but I say, NO stars! It doesn't rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I have used this recipie a lot. I love this cake and so does everybody else. I do add dry cooked vanilla pudding to mine and I also sift 1/2 of the flour and spoon the other 1/2 of the flour into the batter. I do also add a little more baking powder also. This does not get tough or dry and it is not so dense either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
heyyy...i made this cake..and it came out really well.. thank you for the recipe.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Great cake for creating design cakes. It holds together well but I would not split into 2 pans. I did one recipe as is in a bowl and one as is in a 9 in square to make a Mario Bros. 1 up cake for my 5 yr old's Super Mario Birthday. It is a dense cake but that is what I needed. Would also be great with a cream sauce and berries. Really great recipe thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I don't understand why people rated this cake so high. I wanted a 2 layer white cake for my birthday and needed one that was relatively easy for my fiancee to bake (he leaves this sort of thing to me, usually, but wanted to bake me a cake for my birthday). Thank God this cake is only for me because if I had needed a cake for someone else and made this I'd have been too embarrassed to take it anywhere. The layers aren't even a half inch thick. I guess it would have been fine if I'd doubled the recipe, unfortunately I was rushing to find him a simple recipe and he wouldn't let me help. Too late now, the (pan)cakes are already baked and sitting on my cooling rack waiting to be frosted. We'll see how it tastes, but judging by the crispy edges I'm not expecting much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States