Nany's White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I was making this for a small party and I was mildly disappointed. I first made one batch of it and it didn't rise enough and it stuck to the pan a little bit. HOWEVER, it tastes very good. It has a good flavor and texture. I wound up making a second batch of it because if I didn't it would only be 1 inch tall. For the second batch, I put a bit more grease in the pan and I used 2.5 teaspoons of baking powder instead of just 2 and it rose more and worked a ton better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
i made this cake a few days ago. i read about people having problems rising and it being dense and several other complaints. first off, i had to make a double batch, because a single batch only filled one and one eighth of an eight inch cake pan. i had no problems with the cake rising whatsoever. i overfilled my pans a little and it came over the top by about a quarter inch. the cake tasted great, but it was so dense that it destroyed how dense you would think a white cake should be. if you dont mind a dense cake, then go ahead,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I tried this and split down for 8" cakes and they cam out real thin. You need to make a double batch and then maybe it would make a thicker cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Best white cake I’ve ever had and not much more work than a cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Delicious cake. Definitely more dense than your store bought cake, but one of my friends said it was the best cake he had ever eaten. The rest of them were moaning over the deliciousness of this cake. (It was my friend's bday cake.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Nope - won't make this one again - maybe if I would have doubled the batter or something. I should have read the reviews first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Turned out very sugary. Will not be making again-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
This cake was perfect for what I needed! I used this recipe to make a cake that was like a Samoa Cookie (in a bunt pan), so the density was just right. Very simple recipe, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Not enough batter, not enough flavor. I really wanted to like this, but there has got to be a better homemade white cake recipe than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I made this cake for my sister's birthday. It was wonderful. I doubled the recipe to make 2 8" rounds. I cut each cake into 2 layers and put in a raspberry jam layer. In between the bottom cake and top cake I added a layer of mascerated fresh strawberries sliced thin. I frosted with homemade buttercreme frosting. The cake was moist and dense. I had no trouble with the rise or the texture of the cake. I will definitely be making this cake over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States