Nany's White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Just found this recipe last night and had to make it today. I love these old fashioned cakes like I made when I was very young. They still taste the best to me. I let my KA cream the butter and sugar for 3 or 4 minutes, then beat well after each egg was added. The texture of this cake is so light, certainly not dense or heavy. I frosted this cake with fudgy frosting and it is delicious. Thanks, Megan, for a great recipe that will be made often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
My kids and I made this cake last night. It looked like something easy for them to help me with, and it was. We followed the recipe exactly, then added milk chocolate chips. The chips, of course, all sank to the bottom (I thought they would). The cake was delicious! We didn't frost it, but I did serve it with vanilla ice cream. My mother used to make a "one-egg cake," and this was similar, but with a stronger vanilla flavor. The cake was on the dense side, but was very moist. I plan to use this recipe again, and I also want to try making it into a marble cake. I've stopped buying boxed cake mixes, so this recipe is definitely going into my binder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I was looking for a simple white cake recipe and found this one. I followed the recipe with the exception of using 1/2 cup butter and adding a tsp of almond extract along with the vanilla. The cake turned out fluffy and tasty. This recipe was easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Perfect, simple & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope Garfield

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SurvivorRK
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Love this cake... No idea what people were talking about it not rising enough- mine was perfect the couple of times I've made it. In fact, I add an extra egg when stacking (with fruit filling in between) to keep it from falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Far too dense for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kgeorge884

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
It tasted good cake yet heavy and dense. I can see why she uses it with fruit, but not good for a birthday cake which I used it for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
We love this cake!! I wrote the recipe down for my 9 year old daughter to make and bake in her cupcake maker and the are the most delicious cupcakes! Once we didnt have the stuff to make a frosting and the cakes were even delicious without any frosting! Some family came to visit and they normally like store bought cake but they loved this one! Thanks Nany!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I was making this for a small party and I was mildly disappointed. I first made one batch of it and it didn't rise enough and it stuck to the pan a little bit. HOWEVER, it tastes very good. It has a good flavor and texture. I wound up making a second batch of it because if I didn't it would only be 1 inch tall. For the second batch, I put a bit more grease in the pan and I used 2.5 teaspoons of baking powder instead of just 2 and it rose more and worked a ton better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
i made this cake a few days ago. i read about people having problems rising and it being dense and several other complaints. first off, i had to make a double batch, because a single batch only filled one and one eighth of an eight inch cake pan. i had no problems with the cake rising whatsoever. i overfilled my pans a little and it came over the top by about a quarter inch. the cake tasted great, but it was so dense that it destroyed how dense you would think a white cake should be. if you dont mind a dense cake, then go ahead,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States