Nany's White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Read the reviews and made in anyway and boy am I glad! I was really finicky though-I used scoops for measuring the dry ingredients, completely levelled them, and only measured the milk using a measuring cup. I also used whole milk as a recipe from a great granny is likely not of the skim or 2% era! I also greased and floured my pan as usual. The cake turned out a gorgeous light golden colour on the outside, didn't stick, and was delicious with chocolate frosting. Can't wait to try it with seasonal berries and cream! Kudos to granny :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
I only had small eggs so I used three eggs instead of two and the batter was a bit runny so I used two cups of flour instead of one and a half. I added multi-colored sprinkles in the batter and it came out perfect!!! I will definetly be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauralie1978

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This is the second time I've tried this cake and both times I've been very satisfied with it. I find it is reminscent of childhood cakes that I've eaten. Wonderful! The first time I used one cup of sugar (bit too sweet for me), the second time I used half cup sugar (not quite sweet enough). Next time I will try three quarter cup and I'm sure it will be perfect. This cake didn't stick to the pan, at all. I greased and floured the glass pan and it came out like a dream. Yes, it doesn't rise as much as cake mixes, but height is not what it's about for me. Thanks for submitting Nany's White Cake. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patsy Bond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
yes, it is a very dense cake. i used mudslide mix instead of milk, and it tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: University City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
I did not like this. The cake was very tough and had a bland bread taste. Tried to make a birthday cake with this. We skipped the birthday cake, thank goodness I also had a fruit salad to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chrisa
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
This is a fantastic cake!!! When I made it, I added lime juice to the mixture and then, after baking and cooling, I devised me own recipe for a glaze made with lime, coconut, and walnuts that was absolutly delicious! Thanks for the great white cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
I loved this recipe, simple, fun, and very good when finished! I used it in my Triffles for dessert! :D I love it very much, thank you for sharing your grandmothers recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lillooet, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Pavilion, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
Alright. I was in a hurry to get a recipe that I had the ingredients for, and due to the rating of this cake, I didn't read the reviews. I suppose I should have. Mine turned out, like others, flat and crisp around the edges. Although this could be a decent cake with tweaking, it needs so much tweaking that I'm not going to bother. It's less work to find another recipe. It was still edible, with a liberal application of icing and blanched slivered almonds, but it was still pretty tough. I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I wish I had read the reviews before I used this recipe! I made cupcakes for a fundraiser and they were flat,tough, and not really sweet. The most people could say was the icing is good. Now I have to try and save my baking reputation!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
So glad I didn't read the reviews or I might have skipped this wonderful cake! Made 6 perfect mini- roses (Nordic) - they fell right out of the pans, and the cake is light and perfectly sweet! Thanks to Nany!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States