Nany's White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I made this cake as a base for an English trifle,which it is perfect for. I ate so many squares of this with sliced strawberries whilst assembling the trifle I'm surprised I had enough left. It was beautifully moist. I intend to make it again soon. Many Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Simple and delicious! I've made it twice and both times I added a little extra almond flavor. The second time I baked the cake I added a fresh strawberry sauce (recipe follows)to the cake fresh out of the oven. I arranged fresh strawberries on the top of the cake and received many compliments, not only on the look but especially on the taste! INGREDIENTS: 1/2 cup sugar 1/4 cup water 1 tablespoon lemon juice 3 tablespoons butter or margarine 1 pint basket of strawberries, halved DIRECTIONS: In medium skillet mix sugar, water and lemon juice. Stir over medium heat until sugar is dissolved and mixture comes just to boil. Add butter; stir until melted. Mix in strawberries; heat through, but do not cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Li

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
This cake was excellent made it a 2 layer cake with butter cream frosting. Batter was a lil runny so just added a lil more flour w/ a dash of baking powder and presto. Will definetly use again, its very tasty and very moist and I know my husband will ask for it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beebe, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I made this cake on the 4th (for my sis' bday) and the whole group loved it. Moist and easy to make- it was an awesome cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by relvaccaro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
The cake turned out very dense (like a dense pound cake), not fluffy. It also was not very sweet. I split the batter into 2 pans (like the recipe stated) and ended up with two very shallow cakes (about 1 1/2"). I was hoping to use it for a birthday cake. Oh well, at least we had cookies. I will not try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Easy, tasty with a good consistence. I confess, I used this recipe as a base with some modifications. I substituted one quarter cup of flour with one third cup finely chopped macadamia nuts. I thought it turned out great--subtle flavor and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
We got through half of the preparation of this cake when we discovered we didn't have any milk. Upon reading the other reviews which all said that the final product emerged very dense, I decided to go for the gusto. The two of us closed our eyes and poured a can of sweetened condensed milk in instead. The final product was like a brownie blondie rather than cake, but it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
WOW!!! This is a great recipe. I only had 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract, so I added 1/2 tsp of almond extract. Since I keep my butter in the freezer, I used 1/2 cup of unsalted butter instead of a 1/3 cup. Also, I used butter and sugar instead of butter/flour in the pan. I baked it in a 10 inch round pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I added some blackberries and raspberries to the inside of the cake. I made a third layer and floded some almonds into it. With a bit of cream cheese frosting, it made a really light, very yummy desert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Read the reviews and made in anyway and boy am I glad! I was really finicky though-I used scoops for measuring the dry ingredients, completely levelled them, and only measured the milk using a measuring cup. I also used whole milk as a recipe from a great granny is likely not of the skim or 2% era! I also greased and floured my pan as usual. The cake turned out a gorgeous light golden colour on the outside, didn't stick, and was delicious with chocolate frosting. Can't wait to try it with seasonal berries and cream! Kudos to granny :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States