Nany's White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This Recipe Is Great. This Is My First Time Doing It From Scratch. I Did What Your Recipe Side But Added A Package Of Dry Strawberry Pudding Mix. O Man It Even Smalls Like A Strawberry Cake You Get From Betty Crocker And Other Comps. The Reason For Me To Try This Out Is Because They Don't Sale Are Make Strawberry Cake Mixes Here In Germany. Like They Do Back Home In The States Like Tx. Thats Where Im From. I Miss That Cake A Lot. And Now I Can Make That And Enjoy To.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I just thought this recipe was ok. I looked for over an hour for the best rated white cake and this one seemed to be it. It was just small family cake for my sons birthday so I wanted it to be extra special and I thought it was just fair. It was easy so if I ever needed a cake to put fruit and cream on I would make it agin, but not as a cake with frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This was probably the easiest cake (from scratch) I've ever made. The ingredients are simple and few, mix the wet add the dry, mix again and whalahh!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I absolutely loved this recipe. I added a pkg of instant french vanilla pudding to this mix. This helped with the moisture, and added a rich vanilla flavor to it. And then I topped it off with cream cheese frosting. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
My 11 year old daughter (a great cook!) made this for her father's birthday cake. She DOUBLED the recipe to get enough batter for 2 round pans and the layers were just the right height. I can see where using the recipe as is would produce very thin layers. She also upped the vanilla a bit, and used lactose-free milk and Smart Balance instead of butter for her lactose intolerant sister. The cake was moist and flavorful, more yellow than white, and great with chocolate frosting and surrounded by strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANASTASIAJANE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This made a great cake. I use this when I need a shortcake base like for strawberry shortcake. It only made two THIN layers though, and they weren't really thick enough to split in two easily so I left them as is. This is a heavier denser cake and more suited for fruit and cream or another topping but not so much frosting as this is a heavy dense cake. Thanks for sharing this turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I was looking for a dense yellow or white cake to serve with strawberries and whipped cream, and this is very close. It went over well as our Easter dessert, this recipe is a keeper as it is so quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I was caught in a bind when I used Betty Crocker cake mix for my twin's birthday. The cake puffed in the middle and looked too flat in the aluminum pan (I didn't have a cake pan). I had to find a recipe that was easy to add another layer onto the cake. I substituted three eggs whites for 2 eggs to get a lighter cake. The edges did brown a bit and the center caved in slightly but the cake was pretty flat. I cut off the bulge from the first cake and placed this cake on top. It made a perfect two layer cake. I used vanilla pudding to spread between the layers. I added double cream to a Betty Crocker frosting to make it less surgary... I also needed more frosting. The cake came out surprisingly well!! I didn't have a chance to taste it until everyone had gone and I didn't read the reviews until later. I agree that this cake seemed a little heavy but I think the egg whites helped.. plus it's so easy and much tastier than the Betty Crocker white vanilla cake mix. It saved me from running out to buy a cake for my twins' birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This cake is great! The only thing I canged was that I put it in a 8in square baking dish and baked it for about 10 more miniutes (about 40 min.) It is so so good, moist, delicious. My husband LOVES it. Also, I frosted it with the creamy white icing found on this website, perfect match. LOVE IT, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This is a dense cake. It's supposed to be. If you want a lighter cake, use cake flour. The ratio is 1 cup and 2 tablespoons of cake flour to every 1 cup of AP flour. I've made this cake both ways and have even mixed the flours. I liked mixed the best. I also add 1/2 teaspoon more vanilla extract because I like it that way. This is a very good recipe. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaver, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: East Palestine, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States