Nany's White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I didn't read the reviews first. When I poured the batter into the 2 round pans it didn't half fill the pans. Like other reviewers have said the cake came out flat and is heavy tasting rather than moist and fluffy. If I'd read the reviews first I'd have doubled the recipe. I have skim milk in the house so I'm not sure if its the wrong kind of milk for the recipe. The cake tastes OK. I tried a chai buttercream recipe I found here with it and I halved that recipe and everything tastes fine. Its just a little weird having 1" layers on a cake. I might bake this cake again but I'll probably try other white cake recipes first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by K.Eisner
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
We made this cake twice! It was delicious and we didn't have to change any of the ingredients. Would definitely recommend as a layer cake or in smaller pie tins. Makes a great sugar-crust on top : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K.Eisner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
the cake broke into pieces when I flipped it... and it didn't even taste good :( will never attempt to do again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I made this as my birthday cake and everyone really enjoyed it! My sister asked me to make into two sheet cakes for her friends birthday at work! All of her co -workers loved it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This was very good, but I would consider this more of a cake to layer with whipped cream and fruit. It isn't quite what I would call a "birthday cake" It is very heavy, but still tastes great! Instead of using milk I used 1/4 cup sour cream and 3/4 cup water and mixed together. This is a great alternative to milk if you don't have any when you are making a cake. You can also use 1/4 cup mayonnase and 3/4 cup water and mix together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by @},--'-----

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I added a small package of French vanilla pudding, as one of the other reviewers did. I didn't add any extra liquid. My cake was yellow and was very similar to a yellow box cake. I used two pans, I'm not sure which size, and the layers were plenty large enough. I did add the baking powder after I had added all of the other ingredients. That may be why my layers were a decent size; my cake was also fluffier than a box cake. I was hoping this cake would be denser and not so sweet. But, I do think this is a good cake for what it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
The flavour of this cake was flat and floury. The texture was dense and crumbly. The layers barely rise and the recipe would have filled one pan. While some folks might like a dense texture, even a dense cake should have good flavour. Covered in a lot of icing it was passable--but I certainly wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I actually like the thickness of the cake in this recipe. I added a little extra butter which made for a moister cake. Because it is a heavier cake I didn't choose to use the traditional butter creme frosting, instead I just made my own creme cheese frosting which was a yummy addition to the cake. I did use a round cake pan for this recipe and thinned the batter out a little bit and the cake turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Was looking for a white cake to make from scratch. I was hesitant to make this because of the reviews. I am so glad I made it. I had no problems, and the cake turned out YUMMY! It was gone within 2 days. Got one in the oven cooking now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I am a 3 time award winning sous chef. A note of advice to others who have rated this recipe, look at the history behind it. I made this cake today for my husbands birthday...and I think it turned out great! I used a melted coating of chocolate and peanut butter and served with fresh strawberries couldn't have asked for better! The cake did not stick, as I floured the bottom of the cake pan. Bottom line is I think it is wonderful, the history behind it is beautiful...and if you want Betty Crocker or Duncan Hines, go to the store. If you want to indulge in a little history...use this a a keeper! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States