Nany's White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Turned out very sugary. Will not be making again-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
This cake was perfect for what I needed! I used this recipe to make a cake that was like a Samoa Cookie (in a bunt pan), so the density was just right. Very simple recipe, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Not enough batter, not enough flavor. I really wanted to like this, but there has got to be a better homemade white cake recipe than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I made this cake for my sister's birthday. It was wonderful. I doubled the recipe to make 2 8" rounds. I cut each cake into 2 layers and put in a raspberry jam layer. In between the bottom cake and top cake I added a layer of mascerated fresh strawberries sliced thin. I frosted with homemade buttercreme frosting. The cake was moist and dense. I had no trouble with the rise or the texture of the cake. I will definitely be making this cake over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Dense and moist with a good flavor. Made it for a strawberry trifle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Perfect base for pineapple upside down cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cochrane, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Swan Hills, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I made this cake because it's very easy and i had all the ingredients! I added 1 cup of vanilla yogurt to the batter and it turned out very good! light and airy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Super easy, super delicious! I must admit, I was a little concerned by so many who'd said this didn't rise properly, but I didn't have that problem at all. I made this cake yesteray for my husband for Valentine's Day. Followed the recipe exactly, except I used my heart-shaped layer cake pans (that are supposed to be the same volume as 8" round). I did do one thing which could have aided better rising - I used my Kitchen Aid mixer, and whipped it for several seconds both after adding the eggs, and then again after all ingredients were added. It rose perfectly, made a deliciously moist white cake. (I wonder if those for whom it didn't rise were using either expired baking powder or a margarine product instead of butter?) I wanted a very old-fashioned result, so I used a simple cooked brown sugar icing, and sprinkled some candy hearts around the perimiter of the plate to add "Valentiney-ness" - the result was exactly what I wanted, and my husband (and I) loved it! Thanks to Nany for passing down her fabulous recipe to MeaganColleen :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrisDee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Needs more leavening, but taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I've made this cake several time now and it has always come out perfect. i do only make it in a 9x13 pan and do really grease the pan. Instead of grease and flour I use grease and suggar to coat the pan. Delicious moist and dense cake that ready for berries or frosting. Most of the time it is gone before I ever to add anything. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

American Flag Cake

Each slice of cake is decorated with an American flag. See the simple trick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States