Nany's Cheesy Cauliflower Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
Thank you, I've been looking everywhere for a perfect cauliflower recipe and with a few changes this one came close: added 1T. curry powder to milk mixture to enhance flavor, baked it rather than broil. Furthermore, I made recipe even simpler by placing cauliflower UNCOOKED in a casserole dish, pouring the milk mixture over it and covering with tin foil. I baked it covered with foil for 35 minutes at 350 degrees F. Then removed the foil, spread the cracker/butter mixture over the top and baked for 30 more minutes. Voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
This is my great-grandmothers recipe. She made it during the depression. We love this recipe very much, but in the last few years have modified it a tad. When we are making a quick batch we use a buttery cracker such as Ritz instead of saltines and butter. Cuts the time and some of the fat. Hope you enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Laclede, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Did make some changes: used 1/2 c. mayo and 1/2 c. sour cream; added garlic powder; and used half bread crumbs and half cracker crumbs. Have made this recipe with both broccoli and cauliflower, enjoyed it both ways. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
This is a keeper. I used frozen cauliflower, made the cheese sauce in the microwave, poured it over and because of the carbs, omitted the saltines. I baked it for 60 minutes at 350 along with my other dish of chicken. It was perfect. My son loved it. Next time I will double the recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
I agree with another reviewer that the mayonaise taste was surprisingly strong, but my husband RAVED about the flavor of the sauce, so I can't fault it even though mayo isn't my favorite thing. I used cauliflower, broccoli, and a coarsely chopped and grilled sweet onion. I omitted the breadcrumb topping as it just didn't seem to need it. Oh, I also baked mine at 350 for one hour, as my casserole dish wasn't broiler safe. It was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2000
I tried this on company last night and everyone loved it! My family was fighting over the leftovers today for their lunches! I only wish it could be cut down so that it would be good for just the 4 of us. I will most assuredly make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
Too much mayonnaise and I love mayonnaise. Will try again with 1/2 cup mayonnaise, 1/2 cup sour cream, adding some garlic powder, and using regular milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Cauliflower is my boyfriend's favorite vegetable, especially when it's paired with cheese. This was delicious! I cut the mayo in half to reduce the calories a little bit. The only change we would make next time is add in garlic and use bread crumbs instead of saltines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
I don't know what happen to the sauce. I was really looking forward to tasting it. Followed the recipe except for using only 1/2 cup mayo. The sauce separated. I used carnation milk. I am gong to try it again only this time I will heat the milk and not let it boil like the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2000
This is out of this world and perfect for the holidays or any day! Great comfort food! The whole family loved it! Yes the kids too! My husband said he would eat the sauce on an old dirty sock it was that good! I say easy to make and yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States