Nan's Potato and Egg Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2007
This was a great recipe! The only reason why I'm giving it 4 stars is because it was a little too plain for my tastes. I followed the recipe almost exactly. The only changes I made were: I didn't peel the potatoes but left the skins on and I cooked them for 3 min in the microwave before browning them. I cut out the olive oil completely and just sprayed my frying pan with Pam. And I added some diced onion. Maybe next time I'll try adding some ham or mushrooms and maybe a little onion powder/garlic powder to give it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Hammondsport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2001
It was a lot better with 1/2 c. of grated sharp cheddar cheese melted on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
This is a good basic recipe. I do think that you need to add something to suit your family's taste. I added some parmesean cheese and basil with ham as well. Thanks for the beginning of a good dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
This is a great start... Add onions, vegies, meats, cheese, olives, salsa, spanish sauce to complete for a great meal. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Brownsville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
WE love this. it doesnt sound like anything special but it is. for some reason it really hits the spot. i serve it on french bread with a tomato slice and fruit as a side. not only is it quick and delicious, but it is CHEAP also. A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tremonton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SPARKLE33
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I love this! The potatoes turn out tender inside and crispy golden outside, the eggs are just right. I was lucky to have a 9" plate to use. But overall, Yowza! Yummers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKLE33
Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Warning: I changed a lot of things. I followed the advice of previous reviewers for a few things. I microwaved the potatoes first and added sauteed onions, and a bit of cheese on top. I also added about a cup of broccoli to make it a complete meal (I feel a meal must have some veggie and potatoes are not veggies for me) and a couple more eggs. I gave it four stars, because flipping via a plate seemed like a bad idea for me. I put in under the broiler for a few minutes to finish it. The cooked potatoes would have had a nice flavor on their own, but adding onions just makes it that much more. The end result was gorgeous and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I added garlic and a tbls.salsa with left over potates from night before..Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DrIgis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
instead of making a big gooey mess by sliding it onto a plate, you can either put a lid on it (if your frying pan has one) right near the end to steam the top of the eggs, or if your frying pan has a metal handle, toss it in the oven for a few mintues - no mess! great recipe, love how simple and yummy it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
Too too too bland. Definitely needs somr onions, garlic, seasoning to perk up the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States