Nanny's Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
The quality of this sauce will depend on what products you use to make it. I recommend organic tomato products. You won't go wrong with Bionature, or Muir Glen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Yumm-O
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maywood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This was an easy recipe to make...it smelled wonderful while it was cooking and the taste was great...I won't be buying the seasoning packages anymore. Instead of oregano I added Italian seasoning which tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I loved this sauce! I followed the recipe, though I did sub diced tomatoes for sauce for a little more texture. I'm also lazy, so I threw everything in the crock pot for a few hours so I didn't have to pay attention to it on the stove top. I added some shaker parm at the end, too. Fantastic basic sauce that froze well and is easily adaptable for personal tastes. This is currently my go to red sauce. TY, Mel's Nanny, for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Love this recipe. I use it all the time. I love that it's nice and thick and not chunky. I make homemade meatballs with it. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Doesn't taste much better than the bottle. Total disapointment. Followed it to the T and just plain blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
just made this today to serve with lasagna.Let it simmer all day in the crock pot.This was my first attempt at homemade sauce and it's pretty good.I used puree instead of canned tomatoes ( my family doesn't like chunky sauce) I think mext tine I'll sautee the garlic first and add some sausage for extra flavor, but I'll keep this as the basic recipe.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This is a very rich and thick sauce. So good and so easy to make. I sauteed a chopped onion in some olive oil and garlic first. Then I added the crushed tomatoes, one 8 oz. can of tomato sauce and two 6 oz. cans of tomato paste. I also added 1/2 tsp. of salt, 2 Tbsp. of sugar, 1/2 c. of dry red wine vs. vinegar, 1 Tbsp. each of oregano and basil vs. 1 tsp., 1/4 tsp. of crushed red pepper, and 2 bay leaves. I let that simmer for 2 hours on low then removed the bay leaves and added 1/4 c. of shredded parmesan cheese, let that melt and then added some meatballs to let them heat through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I love this sauce and everyone I make it for requests it again and again. I make enough for friends to take home and to freeze! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Thanks so much for sharing! I love it! It was even great after simmering just 5 minutes. Yum and simple. This will be my everyday sauce from now on. Goodbye Ragu! (Oh, 1 change: didn't have red wine vinegar, so i used apple cider vinegar.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States