Nanny's Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This was wonderful and used pantry staples, which was great. I did saute an onion in evoo first and added garlic to that then everything else. The crushed tomatoes I had on hand were Italian style and I also added some dried basil. After tasting I added one more Tbsp of sugar. Thanks for sharing! With these changes, definitely a five-star and a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
We really liked this sauce. I cooked it in the crock pot for 8 hours on low with meatballs and it turned out just right. It is even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I made this as written, but after testing it, made several adjustments. I had to add several more tsp of sugar to cut the acidity, so if I made this again, I would leave out the vinegar. I also added quite a bit more oregano and added in basil. The amount of oregano that initially went in could not be detected at all. I'm sure the flavor was probably very different when it was made with great grandmother's home grown and home canned tomatoe's, not to mention homegrown fresh herbs :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I thought I might have finally found the perfect Marinara sauce. I will continue my search. I thought this was easy to make, but it was lacking in spice. I didn't mind the vinegar I minded the sugar. It was very sweet and a little to sweet for my taste. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Really loved this. I let it simmer about an hour and it got nice and chunky. I also added ground chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I made this pretty much exactly as written and it was delicious! I probably added a bit more garlic and my "pinch" of red pepper was 1/4 teaspoon. It had a unique flavor with a slight kick. Very good! I don't know why some are suggesting using less vinegar. I thought it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Murphy, Texas, USA
Photo by aleasa
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This was a good recipe, though next time I'm definitely going to cut back on the vinegar next time. It was a little acidic for us. I added some more seasoning because it was a bit bland (well... a bit tomatoey) and it needed some kick. This was so good and it made a lot.. much more economical than that jarred stuff. I didn't think it was really all hat thick, so I added some parmesan toward the end. I may just get the bigger can of paste next time or cut one tomato sauce can out. We'll definitely be keeping this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleasa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Foster City, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This has become our new family spaghetti sauce. No more sauce from the bottle for us! It is so easy and so tasty. First time we made it we followed the recipe, after that we made substitutions and changes. My kids didn't like the red pepper flakes so we leave that out now. Sometimes we make it as a meat sauce sometimes we load it up with veggies. Sometimes we thin it out with a little water and use for making overnight lasagana. This one is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I wanted something that tasted and smelled good cooking.I made this last week in the cold spell and it did the trick.It was thick and spicy plus all the ingredients were tn the house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This tasted more like marinara sauce. Not what I was hoping for...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrieMakamson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States