Nanny's Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I thought I might have finally found the perfect Marinara sauce. I will continue my search. I thought this was easy to make, but it was lacking in spice. I didn't mind the vinegar I minded the sugar. It was very sweet and a little to sweet for my taste. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Really loved this. I let it simmer about an hour and it got nice and chunky. I also added ground chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I made this pretty much exactly as written and it was delicious! I probably added a bit more garlic and my "pinch" of red pepper was 1/4 teaspoon. It had a unique flavor with a slight kick. Very good! I don't know why some are suggesting using less vinegar. I thought it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Murphy, Texas, USA
Photo by aleasa
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This was a good recipe, though next time I'm definitely going to cut back on the vinegar next time. It was a little acidic for us. I added some more seasoning because it was a bit bland (well... a bit tomatoey) and it needed some kick. This was so good and it made a lot.. much more economical than that jarred stuff. I didn't think it was really all hat thick, so I added some parmesan toward the end. I may just get the bigger can of paste next time or cut one tomato sauce can out. We'll definitely be keeping this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleasa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Foster City, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This has become our new family spaghetti sauce. No more sauce from the bottle for us! It is so easy and so tasty. First time we made it we followed the recipe, after that we made substitutions and changes. My kids didn't like the red pepper flakes so we leave that out now. Sometimes we make it as a meat sauce sometimes we load it up with veggies. Sometimes we thin it out with a little water and use for making overnight lasagana. This one is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I wanted something that tasted and smelled good cooking.I made this last week in the cold spell and it did the trick.It was thick and spicy plus all the ingredients were tn the house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This tasted more like marinara sauce. Not what I was hoping for...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrieMakamson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I have always wanted to try and make my own spaghetti sauce and this was very good. I used 1 clove of garlic instead of 3 and used a bit much crushed red pepper. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Fixed this last night and it was delicious. I combined it with GIGI9801's Italian Sausage, Peppers and Onions. Very easy to make and much better than bottled sauce. Even the grandkids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Wow! I have been looking for a rich, flavorful red sauce for a number of years, and today, I found it! This sauce has the perfect balance (for my taste) of sweetness and acidity, and while it will serve as a great base sauce for other ingredients (I can see onions, green peppers, mushrooms added), I like it just the way it is in the posted recipe. The only change that I made today was the substitution of basil for the oregano. I finally found my "house" red sauce! Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States