Nanny's Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This was really good. I sauteed onions and garlic in butter, added 1lb of ground pork (beef would be great, too!), cooked til done, then added the rest of the ingredients as stated in the recipe. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaltyJenn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Nice sauce! I used 1 can sauce and 2 cans paste. I, too, sauteed onion and garlic. I may play around with the seasonings to make it perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Wonderful - great last minute spaghetti sauce recipe -I will make again! I was tempted to leave out the red pepper flakes since my 10 year old doesn't like anything spicy. I added it anyway and he asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This is the perfect sauce. I plan on it being my only spaghetti sauce recipe for a while. The next time I made it, though, I do plan on adding onion to it. Husband and I were practically licking our plates after eating this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Domestically Challenged Grrl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Adrian, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
With a couple of changes, this is a 5-star recipe. Instead of 2 cans of tomato sauce, I use 1 can of tomato sauce and one can of stewed tomatoes. I also slow-cook it on low all day rather that stove-top cooking it. That makes it fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrenceburg, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I didn't think this tasted good at all. All I could taste was bitter tomatoes. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This sauce is AMAZING!!! I didn't use the red pepper flakes, and I used italian sausage in it. awesome awesome sauce...will definately make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This was wonderful and used pantry staples, which was great. I did saute an onion in evoo first and added garlic to that then everything else. The crushed tomatoes I had on hand were Italian style and I also added some dried basil. After tasting I added one more Tbsp of sugar. Thanks for sharing! With these changes, definitely a five-star and a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
We really liked this sauce. I cooked it in the crock pot for 8 hours on low with meatballs and it turned out just right. It is even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I made this as written, but after testing it, made several adjustments. I had to add several more tsp of sugar to cut the acidity, so if I made this again, I would leave out the vinegar. I also added quite a bit more oregano and added in basil. The amount of oregano that initially went in could not be detected at all. I'm sure the flavor was probably very different when it was made with great grandmother's home grown and home canned tomatoe's, not to mention homegrown fresh herbs :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 61-70 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States