Nanny's Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
A friend gave me this recipe a couple of years ago and it's the only spaghetti sauce I use now. I used to make my own out of a jar and did a little doctoring up but this sauce is FABULOUS! All I do now is add meat and double the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I was not a fan of the strong red wine vinegar taste in this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
deee-licious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Love it! This is my new favorite spaghetti sauce, its soo much better than canned. I have made this recipe probably 10 times now, everyone loves it. I didn't add oregano, and I didn't have fresh garlic so I just used garlic powder but it still turned out terrific. I think the red wine vinegar & sugar help to give this recipe its unique flavor. I added minced onions & salt to mine, & a little water because it was very thick. Give it a try, its so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Excellent sauce and far superior to jarred!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This sauce did not work out well for me at all. It was incredibly bitter and tasted strong of vinegar. I think using red wine would have been a better bet for me. Skip or reduce the vinegar if you don't really care much for a vinegar after taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Superb! Better than any recipe I tried. I did double the amount easily since I like a lot of sauce. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughmestic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
The simplicity of this sauce is its great beauty. It is delicious as is, or you can add whatever delights you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I was excited about this recipe because of the great reviews, but I found it very bland. It is, however, a good base recipe. I thought it tasted exactly like Pizza Hut's breadstick sauce. I will make it again, but I would probably omit the sugar and add salt and ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristi Cantrell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I love this recipe. I make this about twice a month. I've also used it in my lasagna. I cook italian sausage and mushrooms in a little bit of olive oil before adding the rest of the ingredients. I haven't changed any of the original ingredients and find it perfectly tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States