Nanny's Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This sauce did not work out well for me at all. It was incredibly bitter and tasted strong of vinegar. I think using red wine would have been a better bet for me. Skip or reduce the vinegar if you don't really care much for a vinegar after taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Superb! Better than any recipe I tried. I did double the amount easily since I like a lot of sauce. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughmestic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
The simplicity of this sauce is its great beauty. It is delicious as is, or you can add whatever delights you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I was excited about this recipe because of the great reviews, but I found it very bland. It is, however, a good base recipe. I thought it tasted exactly like Pizza Hut's breadstick sauce. I will make it again, but I would probably omit the sugar and add salt and ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wasea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I love this recipe. I make this about twice a month. I've also used it in my lasagna. I cook italian sausage and mushrooms in a little bit of olive oil before adding the rest of the ingredients. I haven't changed any of the original ingredients and find it perfectly tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I used this sauce with a chicken parmesan recipe..it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobBoiarski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This sauce is one of the best I ever tasted by far. I consider myself to be an average cook and even I could make this. I would suggest some changes as some reviews have already - 1 tbs vinegar , 2 tsp basil, 2 tsp sugar, 1 tsp oregano and 1/2 tsp salt. I also sauteed the onion with garlic beforehand and it came out wonderful. Some reviewers suggest they would not make it again but fail to say why??? strange as it's suppose to be a review based on your results?. It's a recipe you can play about with and if you don't like too much garlic - then put less in !!!! and the same applies for the rest of the ingredients. As I said very easy to make and the smell wafting through the house makes you hungry. Well done thank you for posting this recipe. I am giving it five stars and ten if I could, just wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This is my new favorite spaghetti sauce! I've made it twice now; the first time I put it on chicken parmesan and it was fantastic!! Made it again last night for spaghetti and it was really good, but we like it best on the chicken parm. It's a tangy, tomatoey sauce that I find so tasty! Also love that it's so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This was really good. I sauteed onions and garlic in butter, added 1lb of ground pork (beef would be great, too!), cooked til done, then added the rest of the ingredients as stated in the recipe. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaltyJenn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Nice sauce! I used 1 can sauce and 2 cans paste. I, too, sauteed onion and garlic. I may play around with the seasonings to make it perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States