Nanny's Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I will NEVER buy store bought sauce again. This is THE BEST I've ever had hands down. It does need a little extra love however. I put in some salt, some garlic powder and a blended spice called pasta sprinkle from Penzy's spices. It's even better when you freeze some of it and use if at a later date. All the flavors have merried so well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I liked the recipe, however, i and my family thought it was too sweet (i only used one tbsp of sugar). My lasagna was too sweet. Next time I make this sauce I'll use less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This is the recipe that I have been looking for! I've tried so many sauce recipes that have used a lot of ingredients and then I found this recipe. So easy. So basic. So delicious. I don't change anything although I sometimes cook meatballs in the sauce, which only makes it even better. When I have leftovers, I use it on homemade pizza or freeze it. The sauce does taste more wonderful when the flavors blend overnight. I have used this as my sauce for hot sausage sandwiches for a crowd (and get rave reviews), over eggplant parm. I haven't used another recipe since I found this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This was perfect! I followed the recipe exact but simmered it 1hr - the texture was great, we will have this again it's so easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This is great as is. I've also done it with sauteed onions, garlic, and mushrooms and replacing vinegar with red wine. Both are fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Loved it - big hit with EVERYONE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Super yummy and easy to make...and it tastes better, I think, the next day! Will probably make this vs buying store bought from now on. Could easily add all sorts of meats/vegies if you wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
THIS SAUCE IS FABULOUS!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shonuff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobe Sound, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I made this, substituting red wine for red wine vinegar (oh, ok, and adding a little more than called for!). I doubled the recipe and put it in my crockpot and cooked it on low for the afternoon. It was delicious and SO EASY. Next time I'm going to freeze my leftovers, instead of sending them home with guests. No more jarred sauce. Thank you MELHARVEY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
So easy and delicious! I like mine a little sweeter and spicier so I added more sugar and crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanadu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States