Nanny's Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I was a little hesitant about the vinegar, but added the 2 tablespoons with extra red pepper and garlic. I simmered it on the stove for 2 hours and refrigerated it over night. It was fantastic for dinner the following day! Definitely a quick and easy go to sauce especially with home made meatballs. Will definitely memorize this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Love it ! Best sauce ever !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This is the best marinara sauce we have ever had. Will use this always!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Delicious! I added some green pepper and shredded zucchini from my garden to amp up the flavor and nutrition. (Can't even tell the zucchini is in there!) Definitely a keeper in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I made this as written. Only change...I had chopped tomatoes in can vs. Crushed so just put in the blender for a bit. This is not gourmet but very yummy and quick and so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This sauce is perfect the way it is! Why do people insist on changing everything? Not only that, then they rate it. Hello- you're rating your own recipe because you've changed the ingredients! Rate the recipe as written. If you make changes submit it as a different recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Downes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Threw this together with what was left in the cupboard. Changes: used 1 14 oz. stewed tomato can, sauteed diced onions with garlic before adding tomatoes. Used about 2 tbsp. Italian seasoning and 1 or 2 tsp dried basil, and 1-1/2 tsp salt. (used 1 8 oz. can unsalted tomato sauce.) The red wine vinegar gave it a great taste. I simmered for about 1/2 hour and got a huge amount, enough leftover to use for a pizza base sauce. Will definitely make again in the crockpot along with chicken and no pasta! Yummy.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Preshie from CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This is an absolutely wonderful recipe for Marinara Sauce/Spaghetti sauce. I did not have puree, so I just added an 8 ounce can of tomato sauce instead. When I completed it and tasted it, I loved it. Then I added a teaspoon of Schilling Italian Seasoning, and my mouth was watering at every bite! What a great recipe! Thanks for sharing it! I cannot imagine ever again using store bought sauce! DH said it was the best spaghetti sauce I'd ever made! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
The sauce is wonderful, very rich and full of flavor. I used tomatoes in their juice instead of tomato sauce. Very easy to make and can be frozen ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 31-40 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States