Nanny's Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I needed 2 jars of spaghetti sauce for a crockpot recipe and realized that I only had one, so I looked thru a bunch of marinara recipes until I found one that didn't call for any oil and this one was the first one I found. I substituted balsamic vinegar for the red wine vinegar because I didn't have that ingredient. Other than that, I followed the directions and then added it to my crock of Italian meatballs and cheesy ravioli. I found a winner!!! This was thick and rich and very tasty. Everyone enjoyed it so much that I think I will make some of this sauce ahead and freeze it, then just pull it out of the freezer as needed. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Very easy and delicious!! We add 2 tbl spoons Sugar instead of 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Custardguy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
very good sauce...I made it just like it says...i will make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Good with changes made. Even more can be altered. Make sure to look at the Cake Boss' and see about merging. I like the use of crushed tomatoes versus whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
My husband made this sauce for a spaghetti competition at work and despite mixing up the salt and sugar, managed to tie for first place! Buffalo Website Design
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Perfect for spaghetti or pizza sauce (however omitted the tomatoes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I've made a couple of times and it's quite tasty and easy. Two good things in a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Added everything but the crushed tomatoes (didn't have) and the sauce had great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Nice base sauce. I used brown sugar instead of white and I added some chopped veggies (fresh onion, red bell pepper, mushrooms) to beef it up a bit and a splash of red wine for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I was a little hesitant about the vinegar, but added the 2 tablespoons with extra red pepper and garlic. I simmered it on the stove for 2 hours and refrigerated it over night. It was fantastic for dinner the following day! Definitely a quick and easy go to sauce especially with home made meatballs. Will definitely memorize this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States