Nanny's Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This is a great base sauce to start with and add ingredients that you like to personalize it. I added ground beef, mushrooms, celery and red peppers. I also like to throw it into the crock pot, smells great cooking all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snotrx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This is a great basic mari...very easy! Just make it like the recipe says, no need to saute anything. The key is to use good Italian crushed tomatoes, like San Marzano style. My husband loved it too! Said he could drink it straight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nora Carolan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This is a great start. Don't forget to add red wine along with the red wine vinegar(I trust you are sipping some while you are making this sauce), basil and parmesan cheese.Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Great sauce, a touch sweet with the sugar. Next time going to make without sugar, tomatoes should sweeten it up enough. Added 1/2 yellow onion and cooked with sweet sausage. Excellent sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Delicious, easy and super fast! I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and reduced the vinegar to 1 TBL, added sauteed onion, diced green pepper and basil. Will definitely be my go to recipe for spaghetti sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
This recipe is a good solid spaghetti sauce. I omitted the oregano and subbed basil as I don't like oregano, otherwise I didn't change a thing. I did cook it about an hour plus and it got better as it went.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
this is good...put in freezer so will use it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I love this recipe. I have made it twice now and it is delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I needed 2 jars of spaghetti sauce for a crockpot recipe and realized that I only had one, so I looked thru a bunch of marinara recipes until I found one that didn't call for any oil and this one was the first one I found. I substituted balsamic vinegar for the red wine vinegar because I didn't have that ingredient. Other than that, I followed the directions and then added it to my crock of Italian meatballs and cheesy ravioli. I found a winner!!! This was thick and rich and very tasty. Everyone enjoyed it so much that I think I will make some of this sauce ahead and freeze it, then just pull it out of the freezer as needed. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Very easy and delicious!! We add 2 tbl spoons Sugar instead of 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Custardguy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States