Nanny's Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
good basic marinara, quick, low in calories, fat-free. I substituted canned diced tomatoes in their juice for the tomato sauce, and 1/2 cup red wine for the vinegar. Simmer for at least half an hour to blend flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SURFWENCH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2002
just made this recipe and found it to be very tasty with the following little changes. 1 tablespoon red wine vinegar instead of 2, sauted onion and garlic then added losts more dried minced garlic as it was cooking along with some Italian seasoning (just for my taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2002
WOW!!!! I loved it! My husband loved it! My kids loved it! Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
I was looking for an easy and versatile spaghetti sauce. This was it! The first time I followed the recipe: excellent. The second time I added some basil, pepper, sauteed onions, sundried tomato paste, and sweet italian sausage. There's never any leftovers now when I make pasta or lasagna. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
Awesome recipe. I'll make it again and again! I added 2 tbs sugar instead of one, because I like sweet sauce with the Italian sausage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YHWH Bread of Life

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
Instead of throwing everything together to simmer, I sauteed the minced garlic and red pepper flakes, along with some minced onion, in olive oil. I cut the red wine vinegar in half and added 1/4 of a cup of red wine. Near the end of simmering, I added 1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese and a bag of Gardenburger meatless meatballs. The result: a thick, savory sauce with meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2001
This sauce was great. It had wonderful flavor. I let it simmer on low for about 3 hours in a stock pot. This definitley brough out all the flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2001
A very nice tasting Sauce. I doubled it then I tweaked it a little to my Family's liking. I used 1/2 for lasagne and froze the other 1/2 for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2001
I didn't think there was anything spectacular about this sauce, I thought it was a bit bitter tasting actually. It was quick and easy to make, but I don't think I'd make it again for the simple fact that no one in my family enjoyed it that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2001
Very quick & easy. Both my daughter and husband enjoyed this sauce - which is rare because they usually complain that nothing quite compares to my husband's Nana's sauce, in their opinion. It doesn't taste like her sauce, but they thought it was a good sauce anyway. I didn't like this recipe as much, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States