Nanny's Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
After reading the other reviews, I made the following changes: 1 TBS of vinegar instead of 2, plus I sauteed an onion with the garlic first, plus I added 2 tsp of basil. And it was GREAT! Today I made it for the second time, this time in the crockpot. I put three (frozen) boneless skinless chicken breasts in the bottom of the crockpot, then added all the rest of the ingredients (with the changes I mentioned above). I cooked it on LOW for 6 hours -- and when it was almost done, I opened the lid, and shredded the chicken with two forks. It was sooo good! My family (small kids, and husband) ate it over spaghetti, and I'll admit I ate it plain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
I had to add a whole lot more spices to get this to our level of 'good', thus the **. I also used brown sugar instead of white. An OK base recipe, but most people are going to require more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
I used some home-canned tomatoes that my mother-in-law gave me, and I added some olive oil & about 1/2 of a chopped onion. The taste is wonderful and it couldn't be easier! I'll definitely use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
good basic marinara, quick, low in calories, fat-free. I substituted canned diced tomatoes in their juice for the tomato sauce, and 1/2 cup red wine for the vinegar. Simmer for at least half an hour to blend flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SURFWENCH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2002
just made this recipe and found it to be very tasty with the following little changes. 1 tablespoon red wine vinegar instead of 2, sauted onion and garlic then added losts more dried minced garlic as it was cooking along with some Italian seasoning (just for my taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2002
WOW!!!! I loved it! My husband loved it! My kids loved it! Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
I was looking for an easy and versatile spaghetti sauce. This was it! The first time I followed the recipe: excellent. The second time I added some basil, pepper, sauteed onions, sundried tomato paste, and sweet italian sausage. There's never any leftovers now when I make pasta or lasagna. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
Awesome recipe. I'll make it again and again! I added 2 tbs sugar instead of one, because I like sweet sauce with the Italian sausage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YHWH Bread of Life

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
Instead of throwing everything together to simmer, I sauteed the minced garlic and red pepper flakes, along with some minced onion, in olive oil. I cut the red wine vinegar in half and added 1/4 of a cup of red wine. Near the end of simmering, I added 1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese and a bag of Gardenburger meatless meatballs. The result: a thick, savory sauce with meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2001
This sauce was great. It had wonderful flavor. I let it simmer on low for about 3 hours in a stock pot. This definitley brough out all the flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States