Nanny's Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: May 14, 2005
Very good, basic recipe. I sauteed yellow onion and green pepper with fresh garlic first, then added the rest of the ingredients. Mushrooms would have been good too. I think this is a good recipe for adding whatever you like! Oh, I also added lots of red pepper flakes (I like spicy sauce), basil, and black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
Bland. I added some red onion, a can of mushrooms and some basil. Served over fettucine. It just seemed too bland and kind of dull. Not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
This recipe was DELICIOUS!! I didn't have any jar sauce on hand but had all the ingredients this recipe required (except the red pepper flakes, left them out). This recipe is easy and delicious. I added 1 lb. of ground beef and used extra garlic (6 cloves). I didn't have red wine vinegar so I used 1 Tbsp. balsalmic vinegar and it was still delicious! Thank you for this recipe, I'll never use jarred sauce again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
My husband LOVED this sauce. I liked it a lot but thought it was a little on the tangy side - maybe the red wine vinegar came through a little too much. It was good and easy to make. I used about 28 oz of fresh roma tomatoes - removed the seeds and chopped them up, heated them in the pan to get them soft and then used a potato masher to crush them before adding the rest of the ingredients. This worked well. I will definitely make this again, maybe a little less vinegar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
Good recipe. Added some frozen chopped onion and adjusted the seasonings a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
At the last moment, I realized I didn't have any store-bought spaghetti sauce! OOPS! I found the recipe - one of the few that I had all the ingredients for on hand and WOW! What a great sauce! I didn't have time to simmer it for the full 30 minutes, but it was so tasty. Even my husband loved it. After we ate, I made a second batch and put it on to simmer and then freeze. Will be keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
After reading the other reviews, I made the following changes: 1 TBS of vinegar instead of 2, plus I sauteed an onion with the garlic first, plus I added 2 tsp of basil. And it was GREAT! Today I made it for the second time, this time in the crockpot. I put three (frozen) boneless skinless chicken breasts in the bottom of the crockpot, then added all the rest of the ingredients (with the changes I mentioned above). I cooked it on LOW for 6 hours -- and when it was almost done, I opened the lid, and shredded the chicken with two forks. It was sooo good! My family (small kids, and husband) ate it over spaghetti, and I'll admit I ate it plain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
I had to add a whole lot more spices to get this to our level of 'good', thus the **. I also used brown sugar instead of white. An OK base recipe, but most people are going to require more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
I used some home-canned tomatoes that my mother-in-law gave me, and I added some olive oil & about 1/2 of a chopped onion. The taste is wonderful and it couldn't be easier! I'll definitely use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
good basic marinara, quick, low in calories, fat-free. I substituted canned diced tomatoes in their juice for the tomato sauce, and 1/2 cup red wine for the vinegar. Simmer for at least half an hour to blend flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SURFWENCH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States