Nanny's Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
A better version of my Mom's spaghetti sauce!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
This is a great base for an excellent sauce. I used as is and it was a hit. Letting this simmer longer and adding your favorite vegies and meats would take it to a whole new level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Hall, Michigan, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
nice basic sauce. Sauteed some sweet/hot sausage, onion, fresh squash/zuccini, and extra garlic on side and threw in with sauce. Also added more spices as it cooked. Plus kicked in more red pepper and a tad more sugar. I let it simmer for about 2-1/2 hours. I also threw in some fresh parm. cheese towards the end. Would definitely use the basic sauce again, can modify to your taste and is simple to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I think this is a good basic sauce.. but it is very bland.. needs some extra.. I might do some experiment on adding some things to make it better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
A simple, tasty recipe. I used 5 fresh tomatoes instead of canned and, after simmering for 30 minutes, the consistency was perfect. Not too runny, not too thick. Next time, I will try adding some ground meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I made this last night. I came home tired and cranky and figured I'd just cook some noodles and open a jar of sauce. I had my ground beef cooking away when I discovered that I was out of jarred sauce. So, I tried this recipe and it was fantastic. I didn't have any red wine vinegar, but red wine worked great. I also added about a cup of grated parmesan to thicken it a bit (I like my sauce to be very thick) and give it some extra flavor. This was so much better than the junk in the jar that I'll definitely stop gettting the stuff in the jar and making this instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sutter Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
This sauce is delicious. I made it because it seemed so easy, but the taste was wonderful. Better than I ever thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collingswood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
Very easy and good with just these ingredients. I did add onions and Italian Sausage to the sauce. It was the perfect consistency not to thin and not too thick. The aroma is great and had everyone coming to the kitchen to see what was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBS32

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
Thanks for sharing this recipe. I use it over pasta, Italian meatballs, chicken parmesan, lasagna, and pizza. It's got the foundation of a classic sauce, and it doesn't need much of anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEATRIZ1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
My family did not care much for this. The spices were good but I think we prefer a smoother sauce. I never made a sauce with tomato pieces in it. So I think it was the tomatoe chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States