Nanny's Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I made a huge batch and froze 4 cups per freezer bag. It was a nice sauce, a little on the sweet side. Similar to a popular brand without all the preservatives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
One word...D E L I C I O U S!!! I made this for the first time this morning. I just sampled the sauce. I will be bringing it to my husband's family member's house. Sure glad I chose this recipe. I will feel proud when they are raving about it. Special thanks to your Nanny. I have a Nanny too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Made this sauce for a big group of people who had a wide variety of tastes. They all loved it and asked for the recipe!!! Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
A better version of my Mom's spaghetti sauce!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
This is a great base for an excellent sauce. I used as is and it was a hit. Letting this simmer longer and adding your favorite vegies and meats would take it to a whole new level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Hall, Michigan, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
nice basic sauce. Sauteed some sweet/hot sausage, onion, fresh squash/zuccini, and extra garlic on side and threw in with sauce. Also added more spices as it cooked. Plus kicked in more red pepper and a tad more sugar. I let it simmer for about 2-1/2 hours. I also threw in some fresh parm. cheese towards the end. Would definitely use the basic sauce again, can modify to your taste and is simple to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I think this is a good basic sauce.. but it is very bland.. needs some extra.. I might do some experiment on adding some things to make it better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
A simple, tasty recipe. I used 5 fresh tomatoes instead of canned and, after simmering for 30 minutes, the consistency was perfect. Not too runny, not too thick. Next time, I will try adding some ground meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I made this last night. I came home tired and cranky and figured I'd just cook some noodles and open a jar of sauce. I had my ground beef cooking away when I discovered that I was out of jarred sauce. So, I tried this recipe and it was fantastic. I didn't have any red wine vinegar, but red wine worked great. I also added about a cup of grated parmesan to thicken it a bit (I like my sauce to be very thick) and give it some extra flavor. This was so much better than the junk in the jar that I'll definitely stop gettting the stuff in the jar and making this instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sutter Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
This sauce is delicious. I made it because it seemed so easy, but the taste was wonderful. Better than I ever thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collingswood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States