Nanny's Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
In this economy, this couldn't have been more simple and economical. Very tasty and the crushed red pepper added a bit of zazz. That said, I did add 1/2 onion, chopped and a bit of basil and a bay leaf as it sat on the stove for a few hours on low. But it is just fine with out it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
this is a really good recipe. my husband is really picky when it comes to spaghetti sauce and i was suprised when he actually liked it. i used fresh tomato's instead of crushed and i didnt use any of the red wine vinegar. i also added a teaspoon of dried parsley. it was a little on the sweet side it could've used a little something but im not sure what. if anyone has any suggestions could you let me know. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marinewife408

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This is a really good and easy recipe. I didn't have any red wine, so I ommitted that. Otherwise the recipe pretty much stayed as is. I was serving with meatballs, and the tomatoes were a bit too chunky, so I gave the chunky pieces a quick run through the blender, which actually gave it the perfect texture! Now the new sauce for our meatballs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I've been looking for a good meatless spaghetti sauce. This was wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This stuff is SO good! I didn't have crushed tomatoes so I used two 14.5 oz cans of diced, flavored with balsamic vinegar and olive oil. And since I cooked this all day in the slow cooker they broke down and I was able to smash them with a potato masher. Thus I ended up with a slighty chunky but not too chunky lovely thick sauce. I also added basil, used white vinegar in place of the red (that was all I had) and some onion powder. I can't wait to experiment with this! Wonderful! Wonderful! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This was very quick and easy, and everyone enjoyed it. I added some browned ground beef, but it was fine without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Plains, New York, USA
Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Perfecto!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
A great basic sauce. with or with out meat. It is quick and easy and taste like you spent all day making it... you wont be disapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Easy and tastes great. I quadrupled the red pepper flakes becuase I like the heat. I added 1 lb of sweet pork sausage (out of the skins). I didn't have any red wine vineagar so I used white and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hugh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
WONDERFUL! This was spiced just right and I used it over (Vikki Rebholz) 3 cheese manicotti from this site with great success. This sauce made that dish out of this world! I'm going to see both recipes show up on my regular rotation from here one. Even the picky 6 year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Gunkel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States